Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | June 21, 2012

Public Service Announcement: Get Tested Today

I’ve got an important public service announcement for y’all today about preventative testing.

There is an affliction sweeping this nation and I’ve chosen not to be another victim. I’ve chosen to get tested and fight the good fight.

Obviously, the affliction I’m speaking of is hipsterism.

I’m not a real big fan of hipsters.

I don’t know what it is, but they’re not my cup of locally-sourced, organic green tea.

There’s a good chance it involves my aforementioned struggles grasping the finer workings of irony.

It could be that I prefer my jeans to be comfy rather than cut off blood flow to my junkpile.

It could be that I’m not much of a biker and that my taste in music is, well, not exactlyunderground.”

I can’t grow a bitchin’ mustache to save my life and I look ridiculous in flannel.

Okay, I’m getting off on a rant here, let me bring this thing back to why I’m writing about hipsters and preventative testing.

I’ve lived in Cambridge (aka: Hipsterland) for roughly four years now and I fear that I’m starting to acquire some hipstery habits.

The only logical thing to do was find out whether or not I’d succumbed to the Dark Side and I found an easy way to do so, I took a quick quiz—and you should too—that gave me my results based on “scientific algorithms which analyze the length of facial hair, preference for bands no one’s ever heard of, and average time spent wearing beanies indoors.”

Here are my official results according to HowHipsterAreYou.com:

Whew, I dodged a freakin’ bullet there, right?!

Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t hate all hipsters or anything.

I’ve got some friends who exhibit major hipster qualities.

It’s cool. It’s a lifestyle choice and although I don’t subscribe to it myself, I’m willing to support my friends and allow them to look as ridiculous as they want.

So, go out, take the quiz and report back here in the comments with your Hipster Score.

If nothing else, it’ll let me know if I’ve just alienated a large portion of my readership…so there’s that?!


Leave a comment

Categories