Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | July 15, 2009

Five Things I’m Pretty Stoked For

Now that summer has finally arrived in New England—it only took until July 4th—I’ve decided to take a look ahead at some of the things I’m getting super stoked for both this summer and into this fall.

If you’re one of my Faithful Readers you know a few things about me:

1) I really like making lists. Preferably the kind I can indent in a blog for visual effect.

2) I get really, really excited about things. Especially things I’m obsessed with.

3) I get really, really obsessed with many things.

4) I really like my lists to end in even numbers.

As such, you may notice some very familiar things, people and/or sporting events in this list, but come on…if you’re still coming back here you’ve obviously dealt with my annoying repetition before, you’ll be fine.

 

“500 Days of Summer” – July 17th

Zooey009I gotta be honest you could probably make a movie were Zooey Deschanel is doing nothing but sitting on her couch watching “The View” for two and a half hours and I’d probably fork over the $10 to see it.

In fact, I might go twice. Although the second time would probably just be a matinee, I’m not made of money after all.

You see, I’m a big fan of Zooey.

She’s funny. She’s cute. She’s got a real personality. She can sing. She’s got her own band.

Throw in the fact that I’m a huge sucker for chick flicks and we’ve got ourselves a winner here. I first saw previews for this back in like January and—stupidly—assumed it was coming out soon.

After weeks and weeks of not seeing any commercials for it, I finally looked it up and saw that it wasn’t coming out until July. A small piece of me died that day.

Since then I think I’ve watched the trailer about 400 times and every time I do, I swoon just a little bit more. I’m very, very excited!!

 

Washington Nationals vs Milwaukee Brewers at Nationals Park in DC – Aug 23rd

Grace and I are planning a late summer mini-vacation to Washington DC. It should be pretty sweet. Neither of us has ever been to DC, so we can both be all nerdy and touristy which is always fun.

One of the caveats of the trip was that we totally had to hit up a game at Nationals Park. The stadium just opened in 2008 and according to what I’ve seen of it on TV is absolutely gorgeous.

Sure the Nationals suck, but come on it’ll be awesome. Plus many of my man-crushes should be playing in the game (assuming they haven’t been traded by then). The Nationals have Ryan Zimmerman and Adam Dunn. The Brewers have a collection of dudes I rant about far more than one might consider healthy in Prince Fielder, Ryan Braun, Corey Hart, JJ Hardy, Yovani Gallardo and Mat Gamel.

I don’t have tickets yet, but given the Nationals suck as bad as they do (currently the worst record in all of baseball)…I can’t help but think it shouldn’t be too hard to snag some seats.

 

chucksnewbookChuck Klosterman’s newest book Eating the Dinosaur – Oct. 20th

I’m not a big reader. The majority of my half (more like my third) of the book shelf consists of baseball books, two copies of The Lovely Bones, a few books of crosswords and Sudoku, the 2009 edition of the Writer’s Market, an out-dated AP Stylebook and some Chuck Klosterman.

Everything he’s written I’ve gobbled up and thoroughly enjoyed. His most popular book to date is Sex, Drugs and Cocoa Puffs, which I’ve pushed on just about anyone who will take it. If you grew up in the late ‘80s or the ‘90s it is a definite must read.

There isn’t really any information out on Eating the Dinosaur and that’s cool, I assume it’ll reek of awesomeness and all will be right with the world, as is usually the case when Klosterman releases a new book.

 

Colin Hayes Annual Softball Tournament – Aug. 8th

As much as I love playing softball, I’ve somehow managed to never play in an all-day tournament. In fact, to this day I can only think of two tournaments I’ve ever been a part of all the way through organized baseball and quasi-organized slow-pitch softball. That is kind of sad.

Anyway, this tournament figures to be a day of full-on awesomeness. I’d describe it myself, but I figure it was worded oh-so eloquently by my wonderful colleague and teammate Dana “Lil D” Goblaskas that I’ll simply steal her words.

“…the Colin Hayes Annual Softball Tournament, which will take place on August 8 in Hyde Park and will benefit The Menkes Foundation. Basically, for a $20 donation to the team fee (which all goes to the Foundation), you get an entire day chock full of softball, beer, food, fun, and those warm, fuzzy feelings you get when you know you’re doing something good for others.”

Does it get any better than that?!

I propose that it does not.

 

The Infamous “Suit Game” – July 16th

bad-ass003I’ve previously blogged about my horrible decision to strike a deal with my miniature co-worker Roshni. As a result of my ill-advised deal, I’m forced to wear a suit—like a business suit—during a softball game.

As I’ve stated before, I could very easily back out of this thing, but come on, how freakin’ douche-alicious would that be?! I’m a man of my word and I’ll stick by my poor decision-making skills.

What’s unfortunate is that this game takes place tomorrow afternoon and it is a pretty important game against one of our team’s oldest rivals…and I’ll be in a freakin’ suit. I’m also coming off what is hands-down the greatest game of softball I’ve ever played.

Last week, I went five for five with five home runs and fourteen runs batted in. To put that in perspective, if a baseball player has a WEEK like that he’d probably be voted the player of the week by every major publication. I had an afternoon like that.

I’m not delusional enough to think I’ll ever match that type of production again, but it feels like I’m shooting myself in the foot right out of the gate by playing the very next game in a suit. It’s gonna be hard to even have a chance to hit one home run in dress pants and a tie.

So why am I stoked about this you ask, Faithful Readers?

I’m stoked because after tomorrow, it’ll be done and over with and I can go back to looking only a little bit like a jackass on the field in my bright yellow shorts and eyeblack.

 

BONUS

Grace Comes Back to Boston – July 15th

I don’t think this one needs a whole lot of explanation.

Grace is coming home and I’m pumped. Period.


Responses

  1. i didn’t know klosterman was coming out with a new book!! that is some of the best news i’ve heard in weeks!

    Like

  2. […] has received heaps of praise and/or quasi-stalker attention from me over the course of the past year or so and today she gets a […]

    Like

  3. […] This has been documented quite a few times in other places. […]

    Like

  4. […] This has been documented quite a few times in other places. […]

    Like

  5. […] should be news to precisely none of My Faithful Readers as I’ve ranted and raved about her acting, her music, and her overall hottiness (and similarity to other hotties) on a number of occasions […]

    Like

  6. […] eye as Zooey has been mentioned as the object of my affection in a previous post or two (or three or four or…well, you get the […]

    Like


Leave a comment

Categories