Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | April 24, 2009

Recruiting Call: Carrie Underwood

carrie_underwood_softball002

Carrie Underwood already holds a place in my heart as one of my favorite country songbirds, but today I learned that she’s also a stud athlete.

Apparently she played softball and basketball back in high school and she still makes it a point to play some slow-pitch softball whenever possible.

Here’s a quote from the flaxen-haired crooner:

“I played softball for like eight years and I played catcher for a long time. I played fast pitch in high school, but I couldn’t devote all the time needed for practices and stuff because I had some singing to do here and there.”

Rumor has it she’s got some good wheels on the bases and a pretty solid throwing arm.

Needless to say, if Carrie is looking for a team to join up with during her concert tour this summer she can feel free to give me a call and I’ll get her in my starting lineup immediately.

Heck, I’ll even get her hooked up with an official Bibliotechs jersey.

Carrie would fit right in as the Bibs have a rich history of keeping talented musicians on the roster. Plus the Bibs are always on the lookout for fresh talent…both musically and on the softball diamond (read: Astroturf).

Gimme a call Carrie, the jersey and some post-game refreshments are on me 😉


Responses

  1. I have one jersey left… it’s an XL though. Do you think she’d mind the baggy style?

    She can be on the Bibs as long as she doesn’t sing… at least around me.

    And if she has faster wheels than I, perhaps it would be the time for me to gracefully bow out of the Bibs world. I might get a little bitter to have that kind of competition.

    Like

    • Don’t be silly….no one has faster wheels than you.

      Like

  2. Catcher, huh? I bet you buckle at the idea of Carrie squatting behind home plate.

    Like

    • Not gonna lie, I’d have to change the listing of “Blank Stares and Blank Pages” to ADULT if I even got into answering that question in full…so I’ll simply give one of these:

      *nods his head approvingly*

      Like

  3. […] had a thing for blondes. I think that’s been made pretty evident in my writing a time or two or three or so in the […]

    Like

  4. […] had a thing for blondes. I think that’s been made pretty evident in my writing a time or two or three or so in the […]

    Like


Leave a comment

Categories