Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | August 28, 2014

#librarylife

books. are. hard.

I’ve got roughly eight hours until Grace and I embark on a mini-vacation (read: long weekend). This is our first “real” vacation of any sort in quite some time, so we’re pretty pumped. Needless to say, my attempts at productivity are going to be minimal at best today.

With that in mind, here’s an interaction I had with a fella on the desk this morning.

This dude walks in and hands me a sheet of paper with half of a book title and a call number.

Yes Man: “I want this book…”
Cap’n Charisma: “Okay, do you know if it’s supposed to be on course reserves or in the stacks?”
Yes Man: “Yes.”
Cap’n Charisma: “Um…yes, course reserves or yes the stacks?”
Yes Man: “Yes, the book…”
Cap’n Charisma: “. . .”
Yes Man: “. . .”
Cap’n Charisma: “…how about I look it up.”
Yes Man: “No, it’s here. I saw it online.”
Cap’n Charisma: “Okay…but I need to know if it’s in course reserves or the stacks.”
Yes Man: “Yes…it is.”
Cap’n Charisma: *SIGH* “…I’m just going to look it up.”
Yes Man: “Fine, but it’s here.”
Cap’n Charisma: “Okay, I get that…but if we don’t know where it is that doesn’t help matters any, so I’ll look it up.”

**I look it up and the system says it’s in the stacks. I rely this information to the patron.**

Yes Man: “I told you it was here.”
Cap’n Charisma: “…yep, yep you did.”
Yes Man: “Now can I have it?”
Cap’n Charisma: “You’ll need to go upstairs and get it, because it’s up in the stacks. It’s up on the seventh floor. You can take the stairs or there is an elevator about halfway around the floor.”
Yes Man: “So I need to get it myself?”
Cap’n Charisma: “Yes.”

**Five minutes pass and then the patron returns without the book.**

Yes Man: “So I need to go upstairs and get it myself?”
Cap’n Charisma: “Yes.”
Yes Man: “Ugh…”

**The patron has now been gone for nearly half an hour.**

…at what point do I send in a search team to find this dude?!

Is it safe to assume he’s just hanging out near the elevator waiting for the library butler to fetch his books?!

Is it okay to just mentally checkout and assume he’ll figure it out himself?

Do I even care?

Is it 5pm yet?

VACATION!!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

