Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | January 1, 2014

My 2013 Reading List

...not exactly a banner year for reading.

The calendar just rolled over to a new year and that means it is once again time for my annual tradition of recapping my reading list from the previous year.

This is the fifth year in a row that I’ve done this and I’m ashamed to say that this is far and away the least impressive year of reading that I’ve had since I started tracking my yearly reads.

Despite setting a lofty goal of 25 books for 2013, I only managed to finish nine books.

Blogger’s Note: I am, like, 40 pages from finishing a book right now, but a New Year’s Eve party kept me from completing it before the end of 2013.

I started nearly twice that many books, mostly of the management variety, and only got a few chapters into them before I got too busy, a running theme from the last year and change, and they’ve sat untouched and unappreciated on my nightstand since the initial reading.

Without any further ado, here are the – *sigh* – nine books I read in 2013:

Living the Gimmick by Ben Peller
Drawing Heat the Hard Way: How Wrestling Really Works by Larry Matysik
Sloppy Seconds: The Tucker Max Leftovers by Tucker Max
Someone Could Get Hurt: A Memoir of Twenty-First-Century Parenthood by Drew Magary
I Could Pee On This: And Other Poems by Cats by Francesco Marciuliano
The Black Belt Librarian: Real World Safety and Security by Warren Graham
I Wear the Black Hat: Grappling with Villains by Chuck Klosterman
The Happiness Project: Or Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun by Gretchen Rubin
Things I Want to Punch in the Face by Jennifer Worick

I’ve got high hopes for 2014 and getting things back on track as part of my larger goals for the year, but in the interest of not looking like a total failure come next January, I think I’ll set the bar lower this year and simply aim to average a book-a-month and finish the year with twelve total books read.

If you’re interested in following my reading progress all year long (and who isn’t?), you can add me as a friend or buddy or amigo or whatever the heck it is over at Goodreads.com.

Until next year, happy reading.

Previous Reading Lists
My 2012 Reading List
My 2011 Reading List
My 2010 Reading List
My 2009 Reading List

Responses

  1. […] last year’s recap, I said that it was my worst-year since I’d started tracking my yearly reading as a way of […]

    Like

  2. […] Reading Lists My 2015 Reading List My 2014 Reading List My 2013 Reading List My 2012 Reading List My 2011 Reading List My 2010 Reading List My 2009 Reading […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

