Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | December 7, 2011

Doritos Locos Tacos

The internet is broken.

It pretty much has to be damaged in some way or at least a little bit on the fritz, otherwise there is absolutely no rational explanation for my having been left in the dark for so long.

Seriously, I have absolutely no idea how I hadn’t heard about Taco Bell’s Doritos Locos Tacos until today, but that’s exactly the situation I’m finding myself in this evening.

On the off-chance that I’m not the only one with a busted world wide web, let me give you the quick and dirty lowdown on this magnificent creation…it’s a freakin’ taco with a shell made out of Nacho Cheese Doritos.

That’s it. That’s all there is to it, but it’s absolutely amazing.

The brilliance is in the simplicity, methinks.

This is ground-breaking stuff, y’all. This is the type of innovation that changes things, man. It changes everything.

In 50 years, this will be the type of revolutionary change I can tell my grandkids about with one of those proud I WAS THERE WHEN… hazy-flashback kinda moments.

It seems pretty obvious that this thing was created for a—ahem—certain target audience…

Clearly "snappy dressers" are the intended target audience.

…but I think it’s a brilliant concept nonetheless.

It boggles my mind how it took us so long to reach the point where something this splendid finally came to fruition.

I mean, Taco flavored Doritos have been around (albeit off and on) for years and people have been eating “walking tacos” made with Doritos since the dawn of man. This was inevitable, it’s just a shame that it took so damn long to happen.

So far these bad-boys have only been rolled out in a few test markets, but there’s no way this doesn’t catch on and go worldwide, right?!

…right?!

When it does, I’m totally getting one.

Who among My Faithful Readers will be brave enough to do the same?

Sound off in the comments and let me know if you’re joining me in this adventure or if you’ll abstain.

Responses

  1. I’m in. Hoping it gets to Iowa before I am too old to eat them.

    Like

    • So far they’ve tested in–of all places–Toledo, Ohio and the Bakersfield/Fresno region in California. Interesting test markets, but this thing has too much appeal not to happen.

      Like

  2. haha I don’t know how great that sounds, but for some reason I have to try it!

    Like

    • I think that may prove to be the more common reaction. It looks and sounds kinds of scary and like something that Mother Nature never intended, but it also has this novelty that can’t be ignored. If these suckers went nationwide they’d make some serious coin for at least a few weeks, I think everyone would have to try at least one of ’em.

      Like

  3. […] last month I wrote about my long overdue discovery of the Doritos Locos Tacos and the unfortunate fact that it is pretty much impossible to find anywhere but a few select […]

    Like

  4. […] Back in December, I wrote about my late-in-the-game discovery of Doritos Locos Tacos. […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

