Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | February 2, 2009

Laundry Day

I came to a very profound decision this afternoon…I freakin’ hate laundry day.

laundryday002Now don’t get me wrong, it’s not that I don’t enjoy doing my laundry and–you know–actually having clean clothes. No, no those are two things that I find quite delightful.

What’s unfortunate is that ever since Grace and I moved to Cambridge, doing laundry has become a huge pain in the ass.

Now I’ll admit, in the past I’ve been completely spoiled when it comes to laundry.

In my college dorms there was a laundry room just three floors down from me. In my first apartment there was a laundry room on the top floor. When Grace and I moved in with Mike and Alicia they had a laundry room in their basement. When Grace and I moved to Southie we lived directly above a laundromat.

…then we moved to Cambridge.

The nearest laundromat is like half-a-mile away. I fully realize that half-a-mile isn’t really the far, but you’ve got to take into account that I’m generally pushing one of those granny grocery carts full of clothes and a big ole jug of laundry detergent. A granny cart in-and-of itself ain’t all that bad, but our granny cart kinda blows.

Our granny cart doesn’t roll well when the sidewalks are snowy (as they were today) and it doesn‘t roll well unless the sidewalks are totally smooth (as almost none of them are). The cart is also a little on the short-side. The handle comes up to just below my hips. This means I spend the entire time bent over like the hunchback of Notre Dame.

Although I’m sure it is quite amusing to all of the folks I scuffle past when they watch a 6’3” dude all hunched over his granny cart full of dirty socks and undies…it sure as heck ain’t funny to me.

Long story short…laundry day sucks.

Responses

  1. big rolly suitcase

    Like

  2. […] I was going through the pain-in-the-ass process of doing my laundry on Monday and after tossing my clothes in to start the wash cycle, I had […]

    Like

  3. […] who has stopped by here a time or two is well-aware that I f’n hate laundry day with the fiery passion of a thousand suns. Not […]

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

Categories

