Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | May 21, 2013

Zach Sobiech: Dying the Right Way

Zach Sobiech

When I woke up this morning I didn’t intend to flood my blog with videos guaranteed to make people cry, but that seems to be where my day is headed.

On the heels of the tiny miracle that came out of the tremendous devastation in Moore, Oklahoma, I had another inspiring story shared with me earlier today and I feel compelled to pass it along to all of you.

It is the story of Zach Sobiech, a Minnesota teenager who was diagnosed with osteosarcoma, a rare form of bone cancer, when he was just 14-years-old.

In the years following his diagnosis, Zach underwent numerous surgeries and countless rounds of chemotherapy to battle the disease.

Ultimately, despite some improvements over the years, he was engaged in a fight he couldn’t win. Late last year, Zach was told that the cancer’s progression was unstoppable and he only had months to live.

Making the most of his finals days, Zach recorded a goodbye song entitled “Clouds” for his family and friends.

Luckily, because the internet isn’t always a cesspool of depravity and can sometimes be a very wonderful, very heartwarming place, the video went viral and garnered more than three million (and climbing) views on YouTube.

Zach also had his story chronicled as part of SoulPancake’s uplifting “My Last Days” documentary series.

That’s what I’m sharing with you today.

It is a long video, but it’s most certainly worth the investment of 20 minutes of your life. I will, however, warn you that if you’re not a fan of people seeing you cry, you’re going to want to watch this one with the door closed.

Without any further ado, here is Zach Sobiech’s inspiring story:

 

Zach passed away early Monday, May 20th.

He was at home with his family. He went down swinging and on his own terms. He spent his final months out in the world living his life, not slowly dying in a hospital bed.

He died the right way. He died his way.

I don’t want to get all weepy and sentimental. I don’t want to pretend that this is the only sad or inspiring story on the internet. I don’t want to act like this is going to be the impetus that leads me to change the way I live my life forever.

…but, at the very least, for the next couple of days it’s going to make me hold my hugs a little bit longer, flash a little more patience when I think I’ve run out of it, and not think twice about paying for a round of beers with my friends.

Sometimes all we can really ask for is a reason to be a little bit better than we are, even if it only lasts a little while. The hope is that you’ll always find another reason right around the corner.

Right now, Zach Sobiech is my reason. Here’s hoping he can be yours too.

“It’s really simple actually; it’s just…try to make people happy.” – Zach Sobiech

Responses

  1. If after reading this you feel compelled to show support or well-wishes, the Sobiech family requests that all memorials be directed to the Zach Sobiech Osteosarcoma Fund in lieu of flowers to help carry on Zach’s mission to help other kids with cancer.

  2. This post really hit a soft spot. My dad died of lung cancer a few months ago… seeing this really made loving my dad mean that much more!

    RIP Zach!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 167 other followers

