Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | August 27, 2012

Confessions: I’m a Classic Movie Failure (aka: I Just Saw “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off” for the First Time)

Roughly a week ago, I learned that Grace had never seenSleepless in Seattle.”

This absolutely blew my mind. I mean seriously, who hasn’t seen “Sleepless in Seattle” by the age of 29, right?!

Naturally, I responded by immediately purchasing the movie on Amazon and on Friday night she watched the most-famous movie in the Tom Hanks/Meg Ryan trilogy for the first time.

Unfortunately, it hasn’t exactly aged well and the once-quirky, over-the-top performance by Ryan seems decidedly more forced and less-genuine in 2012 than it did in 1993, but that’s not really what matters.

What matters is that Grace has now seen “Sleepless in Seattle.”

As a result, last night she requested that I watch a movie—one of her all-time favorites—that I had never seen before, “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off.”

Now I know what you’re thinking…Jeremiah how in the blue hell have you never seen “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off?? …also you have exquisite interpersonal skills and your t-shirt collection if rivaled by no one, but seriously…what gives with the “Ferris Bueller” thing?!

I can’t disagree with any of you.

It is downright ridiculous that I’d never seen the movie prior to last night. It is, by all accounts, one of the most iconic movies of the past 30 years and one that peeps of my generation hold in the highest high-esteem.

(Blogger’s Note: It was also very funny and entertaining, despite my constantly nit-picking plot holes and the lack of realism. Oh and PS: Sloane!!)

Unfortunately, this is something I’m pretty notorious for, there are plenty of times people start talking to me about a movie and when I tell them—often red-faced and full of shame—that I’ve never seen it, they inevitably respond as follows: “OH MY GOD, HOW HAVE YOU NEVER SEEN [Insert Iconic Movie]?!?!”

The fact of the matter is this, as a kid I watched “Field of Dreams,” “Bull Durham,” “Major League,” “Batman,” “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles,” “The Lion King,” and “Die Hard” something like 10,000 times each.

I don’t ever once remember going to a movie theater with my parents—seriously, I can’t imagine they’ve been inside a theater since 1981—and, aside from the aforementioned cinematic masterpieces, I didn’t spend a bunch of time watching movies or television (note: wrestling and baseball games excluded) as a kid. We had a farm with lots of crap to play with and I had two brothers to annoy and/or fight with at all times.

As a result, I missed out on a lot of classic movies.

I’ve made a big effort in recent years to remedy a lot of the missing classics. I finally watched all of the original “Star Wars” movies and the original “Indiana Jones” movies for the first time a few years back.

I’ve watched “Alien.” I’ve watched (and now own) “High Fidelity.” I’ve watched “Stripes” and all of the “Nightmare on Elm Street” movies.

…but I’ve still got a long, long way to go if I want to be “up to speed” on the requisite “classics” for my generation.

This is where all y’all come into play.

I want all y’all to leave your top five “classic” movies for peeps of my generation (read: folks roughly 25ish-35ish-years-old) in the comments section.

The top ten most popular responses will be turned into fodder for an upcoming movie marathon wherein I’ll try to plow through all ten movies (and briefly review them) in one month.

That may not sound overly impressive, but given that it took me 26 years to watch “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off” and the fact that I currently watch, roughly, one movie a month in my living room and, like, two a year in the theater, it’s better than nothing.

The submission period goes from today (Monday, August 27) through midnight next Sunday (September 2).

Hit up the comments and let me know what classic movie(s) I need to see.


Responses

  1. I haven’t seen Sleepless in Seattle yet either. I don’t feel like I’m missing anything though. I’ll take Joe Versus the Volcano any day over Sleepless. As far as a top five, once you’ve seen Bueller, nothing else matters. But I do enjoy most of the movies from the early to mid 90’s by the SNL crew.

  2. airplane
    caddyshack
    Blues Brothers
    coming to america
    Naked Gun

    • Luckily, I’ve seen the bulk of these. I’ve never actually seen “Blues Brothers” or “Caddyshack” though…I feel like those two might get some additional support.

  3. Now that you’ve seen John Hughes’ Valentine’s card to teenagers with money, see the poison-pen letter to the young haves–Pretty In Pink. After that, Jon Cryer making tons of money on an inexplicably-popular TV show will no longer bother you. Complete the Hughes classic set with Sixteen Candles (even though it hasn’t aged well) and The Breakfast Club. Rather than write you an entire essay on movies in the ’80’s (if that is the time period you are trying to recover), I’ll stop there for now. This should be a a Muddy conversation. Ahem.

    • Let’s be honest, EVERY conversation should be a Muddy conversation. They all get decidedly more entertaining…and hard to remember the next day. Hmmmm?! :-/

      Anyway, I’ve seen the “Breakfast Club”…but I’m definitely lacking for both “Pretty in Pink and “Sixteen Candles.”

      I could definitely see those two picking up some steam as the submissions roll in.

  4. I just noticed that somebody put Coming To America. If you are in an Eddie Murphy mood, go in this order: Beverly Hills Cop (watch for the detective who talks like Deval Patrick), 48 Hours, and Eddie Murphy Raw. BHC is after 48, chronologically, but more of a pleaser and more quotable. Do not watch Coming To America before either, please.

  5. Never saw Sleepless and never saw Titanic, and feeling pretty good about it.

    • You never saw “Titanic”…how is that even possible?!

      I thought it was physically forced upon everyone in the country at least two or three times between 1997 and 1998?! Weird.

  6. Hm. If I were having an 80s/90s movie party, these would be my suggestions:

    Princess Bride
    Empire Records
    Clueless
    Fifth Element
    Who Framed Roger Rabbit?
    When Harry Met Sally
    Big
    Jurassic Park
    Groundhog Day
    Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade
    Dick Tracy
    Stand By Me
    Steel Magnolias

    • Thankfully, I’ve seen a whole-big bunch of these.

      I will, however, admit that I’ve never seen “Empire Records,” “Stand By Me,” “Dick Tracy,” or “Steel Magnolias.”

      I feel like I’ve seen parts of all of these movies on television over the years, but never the entire movie.

      • I own Stand by Me & Steel Magnolias, so if you ever want a bromance or a broadmance movie, both are available!

  7. I missed out on a lot of those old movies, too. I never saw Breakfast Club, St. Elmo’s Fire or Pretty in Pink when I was younger, either. I get that same reaction–“YOU’VE NEVER SEEN XYZ?!”

    Porky’s and Revenge of the Nerds are classic 80’s, and absolutely terrible. The Police Academy films–I don’t remember much about them, because they were unmemorable, except for that guy who could do sounds. I remember him.

    • I feel the same way about the Police Academy movies. I vaguely recall the first one being amusing, but then they made something like 23 of them and they were all basically the same movie with certain “stars” rotating out of the mix after awhile. The last one I recall was in Russia or something and centered around some sort of “evil version” of Tetris…or something?!

      I’ve seen the “Revenge of the Nerds” movies, but never “Porky’s.” That one might have to make the list. I feel like people referencing it a fair amount.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 167 other followers

