Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | August 14, 2012

Life Imitates Art


I don’t watch a ton of television, but the shows I do watch generally have one thing in common, they remind me of my life in some way.

Whenever I watch How I Met Your Mother I am absolutely floored by how many storylines, quotes, and acts of utter randomness seem as though they’ve been pulled directly from my own life. It definitely feels like the show was either written by me or someone spying on large portions of my life.

The feeling also used to hit me whenever I watched Scrubs and, back in the day, I felt the same way about Friends.

(Blogger’s Note: Unfortunately, I never got this feeling whilst watching Heroes, despite my overwhelming desire to be Peter Petrelli…and make-out with the cheerleader.)

Anyway, it seems like lately, things have been in reverse. Instead of art imitating life, real life is doing its best to mimic television.

The scary part is that the show being mimicked is The Office and more accurately, the former Regional Manager for the Dunder-Mifflin Paper Company, Michael Scott.

Two months ago, I wrote a story detailing how Mary J. Blige was doing her best Michael Scott impersonation by coming up lame on some scholarships she’d promised to a number of students.

Now a South Attleboro woman is taking another page out of the Michael Scott handbook.

Here are the details from the Boston Globe:

Police have cited a woman who allegedly drove her car onto the MBTA Green Line tracks in Coolidge Corner while she was looking at her GPS.

Natalie Thibeault, 22, told MBTA Transit Police that she turned onto the tracks near Beacon and Harvard streets just after 1 a.m. Monday because she took a left when her Global Positioning System told her to do so.

Thibeault was not injured, but police cited her for impeded operation of a vehicle and a left turn violation.

Admittedly, I’ve never driven with a GPS system in place. I’ve always had a navigator in the passenger seat with a print-out from Google Maps or, if driving solo, I’ve taken my odds and simply attempted to follow road signs.

Maybe dealing with a GPS is harder than it seems. I can’t say for sure.

That having been said…what the shit?!

She turned left in a place where there were no left turns. Undoubtedly this would have been marked with a sign that said as much. Then, in making this illegal left turn, she ended up on the freaking subway tracks. Undoubtedly this would have been marked by the fact that it was subway tracks and not a road.

I guess it’s not quite as bad as Michael Scott’s plunge into the lake, but I’ll be damned if that isn’t pretty embarrassing nonetheless.

What say you, My Faithful Readers? Do you follow the GPS instructions to the letter or do you still use common sense behind the wheel? Sound off in the comments.

Now, the moment you’ve all been waiting for, Michael Scott’s All-Too Literal Interpretation of GPS Directions:


Responses

  1. I’m wondering if this woman had some underlying self-destructive tendencies like Michael Scott…


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 167 other followers

