Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | August 8, 2012

Celebrities Read Mean Tweets

I’m a big fan of Twitter.

It gives regular folks like you and me the chance to interact with actors, athletes, politicians, and a whole host of other people you’d otherwise never get within sniffing-distance of in the real world.

That having been said, for all of the awesomeness that Twitter allows it’s also pretty much a lawless wasteland populated by some of the worst human-beings on the planet.

Unfortunately, the internet provides a sense of detachment from the things people say and means that you can basically say whatever you want and be a complete tool with almost no repercussions.

This has led to a number of people taking potshots at those same celebrities that they once had no way of interacting with and now that they do, they’ve decided to be assclowns.

Luckily, many celebrities are able to take it in stride and laugh at the d-bags who take cheap-shots at ‘em.

Jimmy Kimmel recently had a feature on his show wherein celebrities read mean tweets written about them.

I feel like that’s really all the more intro you need, so without any further ado here it is, in all of its glory, “Jimmy Kimmel Live Presents: Celebrities Read Mean Tweets”:

If you didn’t laugh at least a little bit, I’m not sure we can be friends anymore.

Whether it was for the celebrities’ reactions or the “mean tweets” themselves, some of that was flat-out funny, other parts, not so much.

Here are my immediate take-aways from the video:

  • Anything that involves both Zooey Deschanel and Katy Perry is a winner in my book.
  • My life would be a-okay without the presence of Snooki, Kristen Stewart, and/or Justice Beaver.
  • What in the heck is a Matisyahu??
  • Lots of internet bullies aren’t funny…or mean…or creative…just dumb.
  • Matt LeBlanc is still freakin’ hilarious.
  • Larry King isn’t dead yet, like, for real?!
  • Danny McBride is still a thing?! We’re still doing that, huh?!
  • I assume David Spade gets that a lot.

Honestly, I’m hoping that I’ve never bashed a celebrity on Twitter. I’d hate to see some poorly-written, poorly-devised missive of mine come back to haunt me on national television.

Granted, I think the only celebrities—and I’m using that term very loosely—I’ve ever bashed on Twitter are Lindsay Lohan, Carrot Top, Paris Hilton, and maybe Jose Canseco.

Honestly, I’m unsure whether or not at least half of that crew can read and I can’t imagine a world where the other half would end up on Jimmy Kimmel ever again…so maybe I’m in the clear.

Update: Apparently, Jimmy Kimmel did one of these earlier in the year as well.

It is also bringing the funny and bringing it hard. As such, I’d be remiss if I didn’t include it here as well, so here it be:

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

