Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | July 26, 2012

Crowdsourcing: Is This T-Shirt Crossing the “Crazy Cat Lady” Line?!

I’ve made it no secret that I dig cats.

Apparently, Facebook is well-aware of it too and has started customizing many of the advertisements on the site accordingly.

It used to be that I’d get a constant stream of ads for baseball stuff, bacon stuff, pretty lady stuff, zombie stuff, t-shirt stuff, and pretty ladies who can sing stuff.

I now get advertisements for cat food, cat toys, cat sitters, cat books, cat adoption, cat insurance, and so on and so on.

Not that I’m complaining, it’s just been a very noticeable change of pace in recent months.

In fact, it seems that Facebook has now combined my love of cats with another of my loves, t-shirts.

This was evidenced by the t-shirt in the picture at the top of this post. Facebook was attempting to convince me today that I absolutely must have this t-shirt and it saddens me a bit to say that I’m sorta struggle to find fault in their logic.

Here is a close up of the shirt:

Now I’m not positive on this, but I am, like, 83% sure that purchasing this would officially spell the end of any illusion that I’m not a completely crazy old cat lady.

I think there’s a point where you can just be someone who “likes cats” or someone who “REALLY likes cats” and then there’s a certain point where you just go waltzing right off the deep end and then you become, well, this lady:

Nobody wants to be that lady.

So this is where I’m calling upon all of you, My Faithful Readers, to confirm my fears that buying this will be crossing some sort of line from which I cannot come back.

I just gotta know…otherwise the temptation to buy this thing will haunt me for all of my days.

Responses

  1. You could pull that one off. Has a very Zach Galiafanakis in “The Hangover” vibe going.

    Like

    • I like it…so I could pretend it’s an irony thing or something?! As opposed to a complete batshit crazy person thing. I dig it.

      Like

  2. Buy it and then use it as pillow fabric, for your own cat. But never wear the thing…ever

    Like

  3. [...] I wrote a post asking for input regarding a potential cat-themed purchase that I was afraid I was going to [...]

    Like

  4. i’m waiting for you to announce that you’re leaving this blog to dedicate your full attention to a blog that is solely about cats.

    Like

    • Yeah, I’ve contemplated the merits of starting a separate Honey-centric, cat-themed blog on the side…b/c I assume I’m losing a lot of my audience as I slip deeper and deeper down the crazy cat lady rabbit hole.

      Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

