Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | July 6, 2012

Revenge is a Dish Best Served via Online Commerce

My dad collected baseball cards when I was growing up and he built an amazing collection.

It was such an impressive collection of cards that he’d originally intended to put me and my brothers through college by selling the collection for some big bucks when we ready to get our higher-education on.

Unfortunately, somewhere around the mid-90s, the entire card industry grew too big and the bubble burst. Suddenly cards that were worth hundreds, even thousands, of dollars were worth a couple of bucks and most were downright worthless.

Needless to say, I’ve got a number of student loans I’m dealing with as a result.

On the bright-side, it meant that my dad got to keep his bitchin’ collection intact.

You see, as a kid, I thought my dad’s collection was the coolest thing ever (note: I still kinda do) and I was crazy envious. I tried to build up my own collection to rival it, but it’s next to impossible when you’ve got no real income and your dad has a twenty year head start on the process.

Luckily, it looks like an angry ex-wife, who loves herself some caps lock, is giving me the opportunity to try and match my dad’s collection thanks to an absolutely ridiculous sale on eBay.

EX-HUSBANDS BASEBALL CARD COLLECTION LIQUIDATION SALE!!

WELCOME YOU HAVE DISCOVERED THE GREATEST UNOPENED PACKS LIQUIDATION ON EBAY!

MY EX USED TO SPEND ALL OF OUR MONEY ON THIS COLLECTION, AND NOW THAT HE IS GONE, THE CARDS WILL FOLLOW!!

Not only is she selling off this dude’s baseball card collection, she’s selling it off dirty-dirt cheap at less than $6 for every jumbo 100-card pack!

The bulk of the cards she’s selling are from 1986-1995 which means some of the cards that are still of legitimate value (ie: Ken Griffey Jr. rookie card, what up!!) could be lingering in these packs.

If nothing else, I could add to my collection of skinny Barry Bonds cards.

In closing, I’d just like to mention that there are only 151 shopping days left until my birthday, do with that information whatever you see fit.


Responses

  1. The fact that this lady is selling the cards at such low prices seems like another way to stick it to the ex! Oh well…one person’s loss is Jeremiah’s gain! ;)

    Like

    • I know, right?!

      I kinda feel like I should get the husband’s address so I can send him a sympathy card…and maybe a thank you card too?! :-/

      Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

