Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | May 24, 2012

The Craziest Cat Lady

I’ve made no secret of my love for cats.

I’m pretty much the prototypical crazy cat lady with one tiny exception, I don’t have a bunch of cats. In fact, prior to three months ago when we adopted Honey, I had ZERO cats.

This despite being completely bonkers for the fuzzy lil bundles of awesome.

This is because Grace, although a cat fan herself, is not as nutso about cats as I am and wanted to hold off on bringing a cat into our tiny apartment. Much of this has been documented here before, so I’ll spare you any lengthy details.

The long and short of it is that at one point, Grace was pretty certain that she was going to come home from work and find our apartment packed to the hilt with cats and she knew that would be her sign that it was time to move on.

Thankfully, Honey entered our lives and now Grace no longer needs to live in fear of coming home to a surprise bushel of kittens.

However, I learned today that should I ever breakdown and go on some crazy mission to collect every available cat in the time zone, there’s a lady out there for me after Grace has packed her bags and hit the road.

…and as fate would have it, she’s recently found herself back on the market as well.

Here’s the details from Times of Israel:

A man from southern Israel divorced his wife this week because she had brought 550 cats into their home.

The husband, apparently not a cat lover, told the Rabbinical Court in Beersheba that he was unable to sleep in his bedroom because the surface of the marital bed was constantly covered with cats who refused to lie on the floor.

The man, in his divorce request, complained that the cats also blocked his access to the bathroom and did not allow him to prepare meals in the kitchen, the Hebrew daily Maariv reported Wednesday. When he sat to eat, cats jumped onto the table and stole his food.

Admittedly, these cats sound a little bit more douchey than Honey, so that could take a little getting used to.

I also hope this lady makes more money than I do, because Honey is expensive enough on her own. I can’t imagine trying to feed hundreds of cats or paying for their vet visits or trying to keep up with the litter box fiasco.

In fact, the more I talk through this, the less appealing this situation sounds.

Maybe I’ll just stick with the situation I’ve got working now.

One pretty cat. One pretty lady. One crazy cat person.

Yeah, that sounds nice.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

