Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | May 9, 2012

Shout-Outs: Barack Obama

I try to avoid posting a lot of political stuff here, because I know nothing about politics and it’s generally a bad idea to spout off about something you don’t know on the internet.

That having been said I’m going to take my odds today, because I’m pretty pumped up about today’s hot political news.

This afternoon we witnessed a watershed moment when, for the first-time ever, a US President declared his support for same-sex marriage.

Here’s Barack Obama’s money-quote from ABC News:

“I have to tell you that over the course of several years as I have talked to friends and family and neighbors when I think about members of my own staff who are in incredibly committed monogamous relationships, same-sex relationships, who are raising kids together, when I think about those soldiers or airmen or marines or sailors who are out there fighting on my behalf and yet feel constrained, even now that Don’t Ask Don’t Tell is gone, because they are not able to commit themselves in a marriage, at a certain point I’ve just concluded that for me personally it is important for me to go ahead and affirm that I think same sex couples should be able to get married.”

This is a change of pace for Obama who stated back during the 2008 elections that he was opposed to same-sex marriage, but was down with civil unions as a viable alternative.

As the above quote states, his views have changed organically over time, but he was undoubtedly influenced by mounting pressure from gay rights advocates that reached a fever pitch on Tuesday night when North Carolina approved a constitutional amendment that banned both same-sex marriages and civil unions.

No matter what the reason for his change of heart, it is still a landmark moment and we have a sitting US President who has thrown his support behind same-sex marriage.

This doesn’t mean that Obama will be making any national changes to same-sex marriage laws any time soon. He made it clear that this was his personal position and he still believes it is an issue for states to determine on their own.

It may not be the sweeping change some have hoped for, but it is far and away the biggest step in the right direction we’ve ever seen from a US President.

For that Barack Obama gets today’s well-earned shout-out…and this amusing artwork.


Responses

  1. I’m pretty sure with these elections getting closer, Obama feels the need to step up his game to not only get support from all the black people of nation, but to now include all the gays.

  2. I have to agree with you…even though it is just an opinion, it is quite an important one! As someone with friends and relatives who are gay, I feel this is a huge step in the right direction! I drink to you as well, President Obama! :)

  3. [...] definitely backing team Obama and if we’re talking about a difference of one percentage point, I figure I should stick with [...]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 167 other followers

