Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | May 5, 2012

Scientist Creates Drunk Spray; Uses Time and Education Poorly

Do you ever want to get buzzed, but you’re too lazy to actually drink a beer or cocktail?!

No, you say. Not even a little bit.

Huh?!

Weird, that was my thought too.

Apparently, there are some peeps who fit the aforementioned demographic and for them a scientist (who should probably lose all future funding and lab privileges) has created the WA|HH Quantum Sensations spray.

It hit the interwebs in a big way the other day and I’ve been trying to figure out how I wanted to approach this particular creation, but I still can’t quite wrap my head around it.

Is it awesome? Is it pointless? Do I want to try it? Do I want to punch it?

For those of you who aren’t addicted to the internet and haven’t encountered this particular invention yet, here’s a quick rundown of what the hell I’m rambling about, courtesy of the fine folks over at Time:

French American scientist David Edwards has unveiled WA|HH Quantum Sensations, a spray that causes brief intoxication with no aftereffects, Gizmodo reports. Each dose consists of just 0.075 milliliters of alcohol, but according to Edwards, when aerosolized by the spray’s unique mechanism — housed in a stylish, Philippe Starck-designed aluminum tube — it’s enough to make you feel fully intoxicated, though quite briefly. Once the effects wear off, you won’t experience a headache and can even pass an alcohol test.

After re-reading the rundown, I think I’ve made my decision. I’m thinking it’s pretty damn stupid.

I’m not into science or gadgetry like some people are, so it’s entirely possible that I’m missing something super cool about this thing, but to me it seems pretty pointless.

You take a puff off this thing and you get a quick shot of alcohol pounded into your face in such a way that you’re immediately hammered, but then it wears off just a few seconds later and you’re sober as a bird.

What the hell is the point?

I guess it could be good for designated drivers or something, but then they only get to enjoy the night in various 5-second windows of drunkenness. That doesn’t really sound all that enjoyable.

If you’re out to actually get drunk, this thing isn’t going to do you any good.

If you’re looking to get up a little “liquid courage” to hit the hottie at the bar with a killer pickup line, this thing is going to wear off half way through and you’ll realize you’re out of your league, wet yourself and walk away a stuttering, stammering mess.

There just doesn’t seem to be a real practical purpose to this thing.

When you factor in the cost of roughly $26 for the lipstick-sized canister (which holds about 21 shots), I have a hard time thinking that people are going to jump on this fad when they can just go ahead and get drunk the old fashioned way a whole lot cheaper.

Now if this dude wants to create a puffy-breathy thing that gets you instantly sober, I think he’d have a bajillion dollar invention on his hands. As it is, this thing just makes absolutely no sense to me.

What say you, My Faithful Readers?

Does anyone see a logical, worthwhile use for this sucker?

Responses

  1. Indirectly – Weight loss?!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

