Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | April 21, 2012

Event Planners Are Just the Worst


I’m working a special event at the library tonight.

I’ve done this type of a thing a bunch of times now and it pretty much always plays out the same way.

There is no communication between the folks who set up the event and the folks (in this case, me) who are working the event. The day of the event is quasi-chaotic with caterers, party supply companies, guests, etc. all rolling in and out throughout the day asking questions and looking for answers. They’re generally pissy that they’ve got to work around the library’s schedule and I’m generally pissy that they’re douchebags about the whole thing.

I end up doing way more work than I should for the event and end up getting incredibly frustrated and annoyed…and that’s usually before things ever get started.

This is because people who plan events for a living tend to be huge pains in the ass to deal with. They’re controlling. They’re overbearing. They treat you like shit. They’re basically some of the worst people on earth.

They also assume that you’re dumb as a box of rocks and that’s pretty much what annoys me the most.

Here’s an example that just took place as I let one of the event planner peeps in the door.

To give you some context, the library is closed. We’ve been closed for over an hour while they set up for the event. As such, the doors are all locked. This is because, well, we’re closed. If you don’t lock the doors, the place will be full of students. I’ve already had a dozen or so people come up and yank on the doors as it is.

The planner lady comes to the door and I let her in, as I’ve been doing for all of the event staff who have come to the door so far, and this happens…

Event Person: “So…uh…are you gonna open this for the event?”
Cap’n Charisma: “Am I going to open the door?”
Event Person: “Yeah…”
Cap’n Charisma: “As opposed to leaving it locked, so no one can get in?”
Event Person: “Right…”
Cap’n Charisma: “. . .”
Event Person: “…yeah, because I think it will be a lot easier for people to get in here if the door isn’t locked.”
Cap’n Charisma: “. . .”
Event Person: “…right?!”
Cap’n Charisma: “No, no…you’re totally right. I can’t believe I didn’t think of that…” *BLANK STARE*
Event Person: *SMUG ASSHOLE SMILE* “It’s okay, that’s why they hired me.”
Cap’n Charisma: *sigh*

…who the hell are these people?!


Responses

  1. “…tend to be huge pains in the ass to deal with. They’re controlling. They’re overbearing. They treat you like shit. They’re basically some of the worst people on earth.

    They also assume that you’re dumb as a box of rocks and that’s pretty much what annoys me the most.”

    Hey, really no different than patrons, is what you’re saying?

    • Pretty much, yeah…

      Perhaps I’m in the wrong line of work if just about everyone I deal with kinda sucks.

  2. I’ve been in the event design business for 7 years, I’ve worked for the most popular designers in NYC and I can assure you this: They are all assholes. The lack of respect is amazing. None of them appreciate your strive. It is a stressful industry but people are simply stupid and don’t know how to work as a team and make the environment harmonious. Believe me, they just don’t. It’s the ABC of business. You make your employee happy and they will be more productive.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 167 other followers

