Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | March 28, 2012

Mornings with Honey

Every morning it seems that Honey and I have the same basic conversation before I leave the house for work.

She’s never really happy that I’m leaving her, but she’s especially annoyed this week, because we’re on Spring Break hours at work. That means that instead of going into work at noon on Tuesday and Wednesday I’m working 10 hour days instead.

That results in a lot of alone time for Honey who is just a wee-bit of a people person and I get the feeling she’s holding a bit of a passive-aggressive grudge.

Anyway, here’s a basic transcription of this morning’s conversation. This picks up right after we’d just played some string on a stick and she’d taken a break to give herself a bath, so I started to put on my coat and head for the door.

Honey: “Hey…where you going?!”
Cap’n Charisma: “Well, I gotta go to work, Honey.”
Honey: “Wouldn’t you rather stay here and play with me?”
Cap’n Charisma: “Well…yeah.”
Honey: “There you go, problem solved. You stay home. Play with me. Blog. Watch baseball movies.”
Cap’n Charisma: “Well that does sound pretty nice.”
Honey: “I know, right?! So how’s about you take off your coat and grab that string on a stick.”

I thought about it, but figured that I’m about to disappear for ten days and I’ve got some loose ends to tie up before I flee the time zone for a week and a half.

Cap’n Charisma: “Sorry, Honey. I’ve got to go to work.”
Honey: “Important meeting?”
Cap’n Charisma: “No.”
Honey: “Student training?”
Cap’n Charisma: “No.”
Honey: “Short-staffed?”
Cap’n Charisma: “Well, sorta…but not enough that they can’t survive without me today.”
Honey: “Place gonna collapse without you?”
Cap’n Charisma: “No.”
Honey: “Then what’s the problem?”
Cap’n Charisma: “Well…work. I gotta go. That’s how I afford to feed you and stuff.”
Honey: “Oh…so it’s my fault.”
Cap’n Charisma: “That’s not what I said.”
Honey: “…you didn’t have to say it to mean it.”

She then turned her back to me and sauntered over to the couch where she curled up on her blanket and let out one of those super tiny, super cute cat sighs.

Cap’n Charisma: “Honey…”
Honey: “No, no…go to work.”
Cap’n Charisma: “Are you mad at me?”
Honey: “Nope.”
Cap’n Charisma: “I think you are.”
Honey: “Nope. *mumbles*I’m happy I cut you.*mumbles*”
Cap’n Charisma: “What’s that?”
Honey: “I said enjoy your day sitting at a desk underneath soul-sucking fluorescent lights doing work that doesn’t inspire you or make you happy.”
Cap’n Charisma: “…um…thanks?!”
Honey: “Yeah…sounds way better than hanging out with me all day.”
Cap’n Charisma: *sigh*
Honey: “Well, okay…bye!”
Cap’n Charisma: “…bye.”

She then curled up to take a nap and I headed into work.

You win this round, cat…

Responses

  1. That kitty looks pretty mad in the photo. Glad you finally gave in and got yourself a cat.

    • Yeah, it was definitely the right move.

      I think she’s partially mad b/c I’m going to work and partially mad b/c I take like 30,000 photos of her everyday.

      She’s so sick of the paparazzi by now.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

