Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | March 13, 2012

Oreos’ New Marketing Strategy: Sensory Overload


There are entirely too many kinds of Oreos.

I was in the grocery store last night and when I walked through the cookie section I literally stopped on a dime, completely in shock that Oreos alone took up half-a-dozen shelves.

Seriously, a quick glance at the Oreo product page shows dozens of varieties.

There are the old standbys, original Oreos and Double Stuf, but then things go off the rails in a hurry. There are the seasonal varieties with the yellow crème for spring, the orange crème for Halloween, and the red crème for winter. I guess I can handle that.

They occasionally do football shaped ones for football season, that’s not a big deal, I guess. They also do the mini-sized ones for little kids and stuff, that’s no biggy.

After that, however, is when all hell breaks loose.

There’s Peanut Butter, Peanut Butter Fudge Dipped, Mint, Mint Fudge Dipped, Berry Blast Ice Cream, Triple-Double, Fudge Dipped, Double Stuf Fudge Dipped, White Fudge Dipped, Golden, Fudge Dipped Golden, Golden with chocolate crème and about a bajillion other kinds.

That’s not even factoring in all of the varieties of Oreo Cakesters and Oreo Brownies and other Oreo spinoffs that live in the same part of the store.

What’s the point of all this, you ask?

My Faithful Readers, the point is this…I bought some Oreos.

I didn’t have any intention of buying Oreos but when presented with a never-ending wall of options, I couldn’t say no. I tried, but sensory overload pretty much washed out all rationale thinking.

Unfortunately, I also made a mistake I’ve made too many times in my life and I let curiosity get the better of me.

That’s how I ended up buying these:

That’s right, My Faithful Readers…they also make Birthday Cake Oreos wherein the standard crème is replaced with birthday cake frosting, complete with sprinkles.

It turns out that Oreo celebrated its 100th birthday on March 6th—congrats!—and that’s why they’re rolling out yet another variety, albeit for a limited time only.

Admittedly, they aren’t the worst thing in the world.

The problem is that they are insanely sweet and the “cake frosting” tastes like Oreo crème that’s been flavored to taste like cake frosting…you know…as opposed to actually tasting like cake frosting.

All-in-all it was an unwise purchase, but I can now say that I’ve tried ‘em.

As for what to do with the rest of the package? I suppose I’ll unleash them on my unsuspecting co-workers.

Responses

  1. I had no idea. It’s been literally years since I’ve eaten an Oreo. I associate them with cartoons and glasses of milk. But now I have to grab a package. Damn.

    Like

    • Yeah, it is downright scary how many kinds of Oreos you can go out and buy at any given time.

      I hope you enjoy whichever kind you grab!

      Like

  2. [...] Doritos Locos Tacos, gigantic burgers, the McRibster, Taco John’s Chili Fritos Burrito, freaky Oreos, and Taco Bell’s [...]

    Like

  3. […] too many types of Oreos in existence. I still stand by that statement, especially in light of the Birthday Cake Oreo experiment from last spring, but I can’t help my craving for these things. Curiosity has gotten the better […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

