Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | March 12, 2012

Shout-Outs: “An A-Z Field Guide to Library Crazies”

"The Hunger Games" is checked out? Let me respond rationally...by killing you.

I’ve written a lot about my encounters with library crazies over the years.

I’ve told countless tales from the battlefields. I’ve written some open letters. I’ve compared them to zombies. I’ve threatened their lives. I’ve included some of my equally crazy/annoying co-workers in on the fun. I’ve attempted to clear up any confusion regarding what libraries can and cannot do.

I’ve even profiled a small sampling of the many types of library crazies.

What I haven’t done, however, is take the amount of time and effort one would need to put in to create an exhaustive list of the various breeds of library crazies that exist in the world.

Luckily, “Howlin’ Mad” Heather over at “Prawn and Quartered” has done the work for me with her recent post, ““An A-Z Field Guide to Library Crazies.”

Here’s a quick sampling of some entries:

Argumentative Arnie

The thing is, this guy almost never wants to argue over something worthwhile (like whether he paid his fines or not.) It’s usually the guy who swears up and down that Stephen King, instead of Dean Koontz, actually wrote Intensity. Or that we’re the ones who have his phone even though we’ve looked for it six times. Dealing with him is like being stuck in the old Monty Python “Argument Clinic” sketch.

Zippy Zachary

We hope you make it to the Olympic 100 meter final one day. Just please don’t train here in the library. If we could find your mom, we’d thank her for raising an active kid, but berate her for letting him run around like a springbok while indoors.

There you go, I hooked you up with A and Z, now head over to “Prawn and Quartered” and read the rest of the entry.

You’ll be happy you did.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

