Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | February 29, 2012

Austria Wins at Food with The McRibster


Unless this is your first time here at Blank Stares and Blank Pages, you’re well-aware of my love for the McRib and for novelty fast food items.

That having been said, I think it should come as no surprise that I want the McRibster—that beast of a sammitch you see at the top of the page—in my face and I wanted it in my face yesterday.

Here’s the rundown of the sammitch from folks over at Eater :

“Oh hello, here is a sandwich called the McRibster, which is basically a breaded and fried McRib. Sure, let’s repeat that: this is a deep-fried McRib. This monster of a novelty sandwich is launching at McDonald’s all across Austria today, and consists of “juicy pork, bacon, pepper-Jack cheese, and crunchy iceberg lettuce, red onion, delicious honey-mustard sauce and spicy sweet chili sauce.” So, correction: that is a deep-fried McRib with bacon on it. And also cheese.”

Holy hell, right?!

I don’t know much about Austria. I know they make Red Bull. I know that Hitler lived there once upon a time when he was taking a finger painting class or something. That’s it. That’s the extent of my knowledge of Austria.

Despite that fact, there is no place on the planet I would rather visit right now.

Seriously, I didn’t think you could improve on the original McRib, I mean, it’s a freakin’ classic…but to decide to go out and just bread it and deep fry it?!

I want to meet the dude/dudette who thought that up, because we’re talking about someone who is thinking on a whole different level. No one has touched the original McRib recipe in years. Why? Because you didn’t need to, but this person, they were looking out for the future of humanity and willing to live balls to the wall, pedal to the metal, all risk-all reward. I love it.

It’s genius, folks.

Pure. Unadulterated. Genius.

Austria wins food. Put a big ole “W” in the record books. Game over.

Everyone else can pack it in and go home, you’re just wasting your time trying to compete with this kind of ingenuity.


Responses

  1. I see they didn’t forget the bacon, either. Those Austrians thought of everything. Hard to believe that’s also the country that gave the world Schwarzenegger.

    Like

    • Yeah, these cats are bringing nothing but a-game. I love it!

      Like

  2. […] either eaten or lusted after the KFC Double-Down, Doritos Locos Tacos, gigantic burgers, the McRibster, Taco John’s Chili Fritos Burrito, freaky Oreos, and Taco Bell’s […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

