Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | February 21, 2012

Shout-Outs: Downton Tabby

Unless you’ve been hiding under a rock for the past year or so, you’ve heard about the phenomenon that is Downton Abbey.

The PBS show has become one of the most popular and talked about shows on television and has won numerous awards; all the while receiving high praise from fans and critics alike.

In the past month or so Grace has gotten really, really into Downton Abbey.

At times she has tried to pull me into the fold, but I’m just not having it.

I’d love to get totally geeked out and into the show, but I can’t bring myself to do it. It’s missing some sort of hook to really pull me in.

It just ain’t my thing, with the accents and funny clothes and unentertainingness and whatnot.

Although, I do think that I’ve officially found a version that I can get on-board with, introducing Downton Tabby:

Try to tell me that wasn’t awesome?!

This is clearly further proof that period pieces need more feline actors.

Now I’ll admit it, I don’t really know a damn thing about the real show.

There’s a mansion—or maybe it’s a hotel?—and there are a lot of people dying and there was a war or something.

Oh and one of the dudes totally sounds like Colin Firth

To be honest, that’s really all I know.

Despite that fact, I’m totally going to go ahead and say that Downton Tabby is the better program.

On the off-chance someone out there disagrees with me, I’d love to hear about it in the comments.


Responses

  1. yeah the wife tried to make me watch it…can’t find anything about it that is very interesting. Must be a girl thing.

    Like

    • Nah, lots of dudes are all about it too. I think it is all in where your interests are at, I’ve never been big on anything British (I can get past the accents) or really any “period piece” type things.

      Heck, even movies are like that, movies from the ’80s and ’90s already have drastically less appeal to me because they seem so dated.

      Forget the old busted joints, I want the new hotness.

      Like

  2. Graves, Graves. You’re probably not interested because there’s not an 18 year old quasi-singer blondie lurking on the set.

    Like

    • This is entirely possible.

      Tell Mr. Darcy or Bridget Jones or whomever the lead actor is to get on that ASAP.

      Like

  3. Brilliant. That line about putting down a toy and it still being available when she wants to pick it up again? Directly from Downton Abbey.

    I’ll admit it, I started watching it on Netflix and got a little bit hooked. But my husband’s hooked too, so HA!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

