Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | February 20, 2012

Lessons from the Gym: The Inspiration


There are lots of reasons people go to the gym.

Some peeps want to feel healthier, some want to look better, some are just bored, and some are doing it so they don’t f’n die.

They’re all good reasons.

This week at the gym I found another great reason, the inspiration.

There were dozens of inspiring post-it notes plastered all over the walls, mirrors, and lockers for seemingly no reason other than to give people a lift.

I thought it was pretty bad-ass, myself.

Here’s a quick sampling of some of the messages:

The crazy part is that this is just a tiny sampling. There were probably another two dozen of these suckers plastered all over the locker room.

There was even one in the sauna (not pictured for obvious reasons) that said “sweaty is sexy.” I thought it was hilarious.

I think my personal favorite of this bunch was the “You are made of 100% awesome!” note, but let’s be real here, a lightning bolt makes everything better.

I’ve got no idea about the who, the what, the when, or the why surrounding these things, but I do know that I totally dig ‘em.

Personally, I think it’d be awesome to find more random inspirational messages like this in every day life.

How cool would it be to open up the freezer door to get some frozen waffles and there’s a note telling you that you’re the bees’ knees?

Or how bad-ass would it be if you’re at Target sifting through the $5 DVD bin and you pull out a note that tells you how much you reek of awesomeness?

Despite my desire to create a groundbreaking new internet meme, I feel like this has real-world meme written all over it.


Responses

  1. How about “I’m too sexy for my shirt?” Oh, wait, that one’s been done. Never mind. *ashamed face*

    • Oldie, but a goody.

      I doubt you’d find anyone who wouldn’t be pleased to see that note staring back at ‘em in the mirror.

  2. A few months or so ago I read a blog (or maybe it was an invite on Facebook, come to think of it) to make the world a better place day and the whole idea was to go out there and write tons of these little sticky notes to help cheer people up and bolster their confidence. I thought it was an interesting idea. Maybe your sticky note poster was one of the people who was involved and had so much fun with it they now go through a pack or two of sticky notes a week and never intend to quit…

    • …’tis an interesting concept.

      I certainly approve of it, as it is a huge, unexpected mood booster.

      Although I’ve got to wonder if the people who make Post-It notes weren’t behind this entire thing, just looking to boost sales?!

      • Corporatism disguised as happy-happy joy-joy? If so, 3M is onto something. More marketing ploys should be so positive and so subtle. :)

      • I know, right?! People have far fewer qualms about paying $3 for a pad of sticky notes if they’re going to a really cool purpose. Those brilliant sons of bitches!

  3. I almost think I remember something like this from a commercial or tv show from a few years ago……

    • Yeah, lots of peeps are saying they’ve seen/heard about something similar.

      I think it’s awesome.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 167 other followers

