Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | January 23, 2012

Seven Movies I Actually Want to See

Movies kinda suck right now.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that The Artist or The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo aren’t any good. There are plenty of movies in theatres right now that I’m sure are abundantly entertaining, but they’re just not movies I’m real interested in seeing.

I’ll admit that I’m kind of a pain in the ass when it comes to hitting all the right buttons with movies, which is probably why I only go to half-a-dozen (at most) movies a year anymore.

I like action movies (see: Die Hard and The Dark Knight), but I have zero desire to see about 97% of the action movies and/or comic book movies that come out.

Seriously, one of my best friends from back home is hooked on all those comic book movies and he was absolutely shocked to learn that I hadn’t rushed out to see the big-screen adaptations of Iron Man, Captain America or Thor.

I’m not real big into the artsty-fartsy type of movies. I’ll occasionally go out and hit up a Black Swan or a Young Adult or something of that ilk, but usually it’s about one or so of those a year that I can sit through without getting super fidgety.

I like comedies, but I also find that most of the “comedy” put out by Hollywood isn’t real funny anymore. It seems to be Seth Rogen and Jonah Hill trying to out-crass one another and that’s not really my thing.

That having been said, it looks like I’ve got another bleak month or so ahead of me before anything I’m actually interested in hits the theatres.

With that in mind, here’s a quick rundown of seven movies I’m pretty stoked for in the next six months or so.

Let me hear it in the comments if you think any of these look interesting or if you think I’ve just got horrendous taste in movies.

Wanderlust

Release Date: February 24th

Starring: : Jennifer Aniston and Paul Rudd

Plot Summary: Rattled by sudden unemployment, a Manhattan couple surveys alternative living options, ultimately deciding to experiment with living on a rural commune where free love rules.

Why I Want to See It: Jennifer Aniston. Paul Rudd. Quasi-formulaic romantic comedy. What isn’t to like? These are the types of movies that are manufactured just to draw in peeps like myself who are crushing on one of the leads and/or simply suckers for a good rom-com. Since I fall in both categories, it’s pretty much a given that I’ll be catching this one on opening weekend.

Being Flynn

Release Date: March 2nd

Starring: : Robert De Niro and Paul Dano

Plot Summary: Working in a Boston homeless shelter, Nick Flynn re-encounters his father, a con man and self-proclaimed poet. Sensing trouble in his own life, Nick wrestles with the notion of reaching out yet again to his dad.

Why I Want to See It: I’ll admit it, since I moved to Boston, I’ve become a bit of an obsessive with movies related to and/or taking place in the city. I want to see ‘em all and see how accurately they portray my adopted home city. Toss in two great actors in (non-cash-grab) De Niro and a redonkulously underrated Paul Dano and a very interesting plot based on a book that is—from what I hear—one helluva read and you’ve got me sucked in.

American Reunion

Release Date: April 6th

Starring: : Jason Biggs, Alyson Hannigan and Seann William Scott

Plot Summary: Jim, Michelle, Stifler, and their friends reunite in East Great Falls, Michigan for their high school reunion.

Why I Want to See It: I’d be lying if I didn’t say that I’m a tad ashamed about how excited I am for this movie, but the thing is the original American Pie came out just as I was entering high school and I can safely say that I watched this movie (along with some Freddie Prinze Jr. classics) well over 50 times before my own graduation day. I thought the follow-up, American Pie II was solid and was a great segue into my senior year of high school. The third installment, American Wedding—and the subsequent spin-off, cash-grab versions that I never saw—seemed to lose the heart of the original movie. I’m excited to see where these cats are all at in life now that I’m coming up on my ten-year high school reunion.

The Five-Year Engagement

Release Date: April 27th

Starring: : Jason Segel and Emily Blunt

Plot Summary: A comedy that charts the ups and downs of an engaged couple’s relationship.

Why I Want to See It: This falls right back into my rationale for wanting to see Wanderlust. I’ve got a crush on Emily Blunt (but who doesn’t, right?) AND the gal who plays her sister in this one, the lovely Alison Brie. Toss in Jason Segel with whom I shall always relate thanks to his wonderful portrayal of Marshall on How I Met Your Mother and another kooky rom-com plot and you’ve got me hooked. We can go ahead and print the tickets now, because I’m there.

Men In Black III

Release Date: May 25th

Starring: : Will Smith, Tommy Lee Jones and Josh Brolin

Plot Summary: Agent J travels in time to MIB’s early years in the 1960s, to stop an alien from assassinating his friend Agent K and changing history.

Why I Want to See It: The rationale for this one harkens back toward the American Reunion rationale. I loved the first installment of the MIB-series when I was in high school. I’ve always thought Will Smith was awesome and I fully-intend to have him play the role of Jeremiah Graves in the biopic about my life. I thought the second MIB movie was kind of “meh” and I’d really like to see ‘em make up for that in this one. Will I rush out to see it? Probably not, but it’s probably fodder for an afternoon matinee or at least a rental when it hits Red Box.

The Amazing Spider-Man

Release Date: July 3rd

Starring: : Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone

Plot Summary: Teenager Peter Parker grapples with both human problems and amazing super-human crises.

Why I Want to See It: Growing up, I didn’t give a rat’s ass about Spider-Man. I was a Batman guy all the way. When the original Spider-Man movies with Tobey Maguire came out, I was all “pffffffffttttt…whatevs!”…because I was super cool like that. One weekend, however, some friends and I were bored—as is often the case in Northwest Iowa—and it was pretty much the only thing playing at the theatre so I gave in and watched two hours of Maguire CGI-ing his way around New York and was completely enthralled. By the end of the movie, I was trying to climb the walls of the theatre like Spidey. The follow-ups in the Maguire trilogy were less-than-awesome, but still entertaining. I’m very intrigued to see if this version captures my interest in the same way.

The Dark Knight Rises

Release Date: July 20th

Starring: : Christian Bale, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Tom Hardy, Anne Hathaway, Gary Oldman, Morgan Freeman, Marion Cotillard, Michael Caine and Liam Neeson.

Plot Summary: Eight years after the events of The Dark Knight, the terrorist leader Bane arrives in Gotham City, pushing it and its police force to their limits, forcing its former hero Batman to resurface after taking the fall for Harvey Dent’s crimes.

Why I Want to See It: It’s f’n Batman.


Responses

  1. Reblogged this on Embarrassingdad's Blog and commented:
    I love fim talk…great blog site


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 167 other followers

