Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | December 20, 2011

#librarylife

A couple of weeks ago, I posted a Public Service Announcement regarding some recent issues within the workplace.

I figured it was a much better idea to write my way through the problem rather than have to hunt down a bag of lye and a shovel and find an alibi and get someone to give me a ride out to the desert and yadda-yadda-yadda.

As such, I’m going to use the same method today and get out my emotions via blog, rather than physical assault (for now), by writing a letter to an anonymous co-worker of mine who has been pushing just about every button I’ve got for the past couple of weeks.

So without any further ado:

Dear Anonymous Co-Worker,

Please stop bragging about doing your job like you deserve a f’n cookie.

It. Is. Your. Job.

The fact that you did it correctly—or at all—does not warrant any sort of merit or attention, that’s why this place is paying you $20+/hr.

This shouldn’t be cause for celebration or admiration; it should be a daily occurrence.

I do not give a rat’s ass that you checked in a lot of books. You work at a library, that’s part of the job.

You didn’t save a life. You didn’t drive in the winning run in the World Series. You didn’t come up with a cure for cancer. You didn’t pull of any sort of magnificent feat that deserves recognition.

Shut your face and get back to actually doing your job instead of talking about doing your job before I beat you half-to-death with a Christmas stocking chockfull of marbles!!

Yours in Blinding, Unadulterated Rage-
Graves

PS: If you send me one more passive-aggressive, smarty-pants, holier-than-thou email on a subject that does not concern you and/or calls for no input from you…I’m going to superkick your teeth down your throat.

PPS: Happy Holidays.

Responses

  1. Bricks.

  2. I totally know who you’re talking about – it’s the “passive-aggressive, smarty-pants, holier-than-thou email on a subject that does not concern you” that gave it away.

    • I kinda figured that might be the kicker.

      It’s kind of Anonymous Co-Worker’s specialty.

  3. Very funny. I wonder if they read your blog. :-)

    • I often wonder that myself. I know that a number of co-workers read my blog and/or my ranting Twitter feed, granted, that’s generally the same crew of peeps that I have zero issues with because they, you know, do their jobs and do ‘em well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

