Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | June 11, 2011

Taylor Swift and Libraries

It’s been awhile since I wrote anything of worthwhile substance here at Blank Stares and Blank Pages. As such, I think I’m going to keep things simple by breaking down my various thoughts into simple blurbs.

Taylor Swift is one of my (many) celebrity crushes. Additionally, I work in a library.

Okay, perhaps that was too simplistic.

Let me try to be more precise on both accounts.

Taylor Swift

To be more precise, I have a redonkulous mad crush on Taylor Swift, much like Jennifer Aniston, Zooey Deschanel, Carrie Underwood, Heidi Watney and a whole host of other celebrities who barely realize they’re being stalked. To be even more precise, I have a gigantic poster of Taylor Swift (this one) up in my office at work.

Libraries

To be more precise, I’ve worked in a library for roughly eight and a half years. To be even more precise, I’ve worked in a library for roughly 31% of my life.

Given the amount of time I’ve spent toiling in libraries, it shouldn’t be too surprising that I’m just a tad burnt out about the whole thing and constantly seeking some sort of rejuvenation in regard to my job.

As such, the video for the lovely Ms. Swift’s new song “Story of Us” is pretty much the perfect elixir for all things that ail me about my job.

That’s right, my Faithful Readers. That was Taylor Swift in a freakin’ library for an entire music video.

I’m no marketing guru, but if the MIT Libraries want to keep bringing people into the libraries and attract donors, it’d most certainly be in our best interest to have Taylor Swift in the stacks at all times.

Also, if she’d like to hang out in my office when she’s not singing and dancing in the stacks, I feel like that concession can be made, you know, because I’m a team player.

Responses

  1. [...] of my eye for quite some time now and if you’ve visited this blog a time or two (or three or four or five or six or seven) before, you’re well-aware of my affinity for the flaxen-haired country [...]

  2. [...] My adoration for the flaxen-haired crooner has been well-documented for reasons ranging from a fondness for kittens to her undeniable appreciation of libraries. [...]

  3. [...] could be that I’m not much of a biker and that my taste in music is, well, not exactly [...]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

