Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | January 29, 2011

Theatrical Reel-ization

I’m a well-rounded, eclectic individual who clearly has culture and class just falling out his butt. As such, I like to think of myself as a dude who likes many kinds of movies.

Obviously, my love for Die Hard has come up on more than one occasion here at Blank Stares and Blank Pages and I’ve seen enough zombie movies over the years that my survival plan all mapped out. As such, it’s doesn’t take a lot to figure out that I’m big into action movies.

I also own one of the most impressive collections of baseball movies that I have ever encountered in my travels. If you’ve read this blog more than once, you’re undoubtedly well-aware that I’m a big baseball nerd, so obviously I’d be super into baseball movies.

…and then there’s my not-so-secret shame, chick flicks.

They go by many names: romantic comedies, tear jerkers, make-out movies, crap, formulaic and trite, but by any name, they’re still awesome.

So no, it’s not a big secret that I dig chick flicks.

Heck, if you know me at all, you probably know that I get all kinds of giddy for big romantic moments on How I Met Your Mother and Glee.

I’m a sucker for that stuff.

To this day, the scenes where Ross and Rachel get together (ie: in the rain at Central Perk, in the girls’ apartment after the prom video and after she got off the plane) I still geek out in a way that is downright frightening to behold if you’re not adequately prepared for the amount of screeching and jumping up and down that a grown man can bring to the table.

Anyway, it has long been a given that chick flicks were pretty much my favorite genre, but in the past month, I’ve come to the realization (note the bitchin’ wordplay in the title…yeah, that happened) that perhaps chick flicks are no longer at the top of the heap.

You see, my Faithful Readers, in the past month I’ve been to two different movies (Black Swan and No Strings Attached) and I’ve determined that my new favorite genre is…“Movies In Which Natalie Portman Gets It On with a Former Cast Member from That ‘70s Show.”

It seems pretty legit.

Black Swan was awesome and the lovely Ms. Portman got – ahem – “friendly” with Mila Kunis before—*SPOILER ALERT*—she went all kinds of batshit crazy and got birdy wit it.

No Strings Attached rocked my face off and Natalie spent the better part of the film’s first-half in various states of undress knocking the proverbial boots with Ashton Kutcher (Iowa, represent!).

So there you have it, folks…chick flicks are out and “Movies In Which Natalie Portman Gets It On with a Former Cast Member from That ‘70s Show” are all kinds of in!!

It just makes good sense.

…right?!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

