Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | January 12, 2011

My 2010 Reading List

It has become a tradition of mine to track what I read every year. I realize this is super dorky and is probably deserving of a wedgie or some other sophomoric punishment, but it is what it is. I’m a nerd, deal.

Anyway, a year ago I read a whopping total of 14 books and set the bar just a tad higher for 2010 when I vowed to read 15 books.

I definitely got the job done in that regard. I read a grand total of 16 books and an additional 18 graphic novels.

Out of those 16 books, some were awesome and some were quite forgettable. Luckily, I did read two books that had a major impact on me.

World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War was such a well-written and engrossing book that is pretty much jump-started my long simmering zombie obsession to borderline psychotic levels. As you can tell from much of the list, I spent a BIG part of 2010 reading about zombies.

The second “big impact” book of the year was Stephen King’s The Stand. King has long been in the running to be deemed my favorite author and after plowing through his epic post-apocalyptic novel he’s officially taken the crown. I’m sure he’ll be super stoked to know he’s obtained such a high honor.

In addition, I’ve become obsessed with all things related to The Stand. As such, I plowed through the graphic novel adaptation of the book and sat through the abysmal miniseries from the early ‘90s. I’ve spent time on message boards—I told you I was a nerd—talking with fellow Standaholics about how we’d recast it if it were to be remade as a movie or miniseries.

Anyway, without any further ass-rambling, here is my reading list from 2010:

Books

I’m Next:The Strange Journey of America’s Most Unlikely Superhero” by Bill Goldberg and Steve Goldberg
Controversy Creates Ca$h” by Eric Bischoff
World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War” by Max Brooks
The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead” by Max Brooks
Blockade Billy” by Stephen King
Cell” by Stephen King
The Stand: The Complete and Uncut Edition” by Stephen King
Full Dark, No Stars” by Stephen King
The Road” by Cormac McCarthy
Eating the Dinosaur” by Chuck Klosterman
Feed” by Mia Grant
Day by Day Armageddon” by J.L. Bourne
Beyond Exile: Day by Day Armageddon” by J.L. Bourne
Are We Winning?: Fathers and Sons in the New Golden Age of Baseball” by Will Leitch
Zombies: A Record of the Year of Infection” by Don Roff
Guyland: The Perilous World Where Boys Become Men” by Michael Kimmel

Graphic Novels

The Zombie Survival Guide: The Recorded Attacks” by Max Brooks and Ibraim Roberson
Marvel Zombies” by Robert Kirkman
The Walking Dead Vol. 1: Days Gone Bye” by Robert Kirkman
The Walking Dead Vol. 2: Miles Behind Us” by Robert Kirkman
The Walking Dead Vol. 3: Safety Behind Bars” by Robert Kirkman
The Walking Dead Vol. 4: The Heart’s Desire” by Robert Kirkman
The Walking Dead Vol. 5: The Best Defense” by Robert Kirkman
The Walking Dead Vol. 6: This Sorrowful Life” by Robert Kirkman
The Walking Dead Vol. 7: The Calm Before” by Robert Kirkman
The Walking Dead Vol. 8: Made To Suffer” by Robert Kirkman
The Walking Dead Vol. 9: Here We Remain” by Robert Kirkman
The Walking Dead Vol. 10: What We Become” by Robert Kirkman
The Walking Dead Vol. 11: Fear the Hunters” by Robert Kirkman
The Walking Dead Vol. 12: Life Among Them” by Robert Kirkman
The Stand vol. 1: Captain Trips” by Stephen King, Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa and Mike Perkins
The Stand vol. 2: American Nightmares” by Stephen King, Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa and Mike Perkins
The Stand vol. 3: Soul Survivors” by Stephen King, Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa and Mike Perkins
Kick-Ass ” by Mark Millar

I’m pretty sure I had a few more books in there somewhere. I have this sneaking suspicion that I’m forgetting a few baseball books that I read last spring, but that’s the type of thing that happens when your hard drive dies and gobbles up your reading list with it.

I’ll be backing up my 2011 reading list all year long as I aim for this year’s lofty new goal of reading 20 books. I’m not including graphic novels in that count, even though many of them read like a book and take as long as a book.

Additionally, I’ll be keeping my previous personal rule that states I MUST purchase a book every time I go into a bookstore. If I’m dropping some serious coin on books over the course of a year, I’ve gotta read ‘em, right?!

If anyone out there in blogland has read or is interested in reading anything on my list, lemme know what you thought or if you’ve got any questions. I’d love to hear what y’all have to say.

Responses

  1. […] Today’s post was originally posted at “Blank Stares and Blank Pages.“ […]

    Like

  2. I could say I am wasting time browsing the www, but I wouldn’t want you to misinterpret my statement. I have enjoyed reading your archived blogs. A late afternoon coffee has me wide awake and doing school work or cleaning house just seems like the wrong thing to do at this late hour on a school night. So, to get to the point of this reply. The teacher side of me is thinking that a broader rage of literary genre should be part of your reading goals for the year. Zoombie books…. are they considered quality literature? What about the classics? Award winners? As for the graphic novels, they have hit a new level of popularity even at the elementary school level. Glad to see this genre on your list. May I suggest other entertaining reads? Peg Kehart’s series Found, Sent, Sabotaged. Hunger Games series was pretty good, too. Keep writing. I’ve enjoyed reading your posts. Thanks, Mama Jochims

    Like

  3. […] written about The Stand a couple of different times here proclaiming it’s awesomeness and whatnot, but one thing I didn’t really anticipate was […]

    Like

  4. […] has become a long-standing tradition (read: I’ve done it the last two years) here at Blank Stares and Blank Pages that I share my yearly reading list with My Faithful Readers […]

    Like

  5. […] Reading Lists My 2011 Reading List My 2010 Reading List My 2009 Reading […]

    Like

  6. […] Reading Lists My 2012 Reading List My 2011 Reading List My 2010 Reading List My 2009 Reading […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

