Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | April 27, 2010

Cheeseburger Chronicles #052 (and Mindless Rambling)


I hate when I waste time.

Don’t get me wrong here, I’ve got no issues with “relaxing” and/or simply enjoying some downtime, but when I’ve got things I want to do (ie: blogging/other writing/reading/etc.) nothing irks me more than realizing I’ve wasted half an hour trapped in the Wikipedia or YouTube-vortexes of doom.

Making matters worse is that I’m currently in the middle of day three of a very rare three day weekend. Since Mondays are my Sunday and most paid-holidays are on Mondays—and I work a bunch of these for the bling-bling—I’m pretty sure I’ve had more one-day weekends than three-day weekends since I started at MIT.

Well, I got myself hooked up with a nice little three-day weekend and so far I’ve done pretty well with it. I’ve gotten some blogging done and more or less broke out of my baseball-related writer’s block (w00t, w00t), I did a bunch of laundry, tried the infamous KFC Double-Down, cleaned up around the house, and trimmed my “beard.”

All-in-all it was a pretty successful couple of days.

Today, however, has been an absolute cauldron of suck. I’ve accomplished next to nothing. I woke up super late (read: 9:30am), I didn’t shower (gross), I meandered about the interwebs for three hours seeing all there was to see (not much), and I wrote a quick recap of a burger from last week. Booooooooooooo.

**cue crafty segue**

So what is a dude to do when he can’t get any motivation to get his day started?! Well obviously he should go out and get a big ole cheeseburger…right?! Don’t worry, it’s a rhetorical question, of course that’s the answer…a cheeseburger is the answer to all of life’s problems. Except for maybe mad cow disease.

Anyway, onto the burger…

Cheeseburger #052

What: Bacon Cheeseburger

Where: Four Burgers

When: April 27, 2010

How (was it): Good shizzle once again. Although I’m starting to think that there is a serious difference of opinion in regards to what the phrase “medium” means between me and the dude running the kitchen.

I think of “medium” as cooked and still sorta pinkish. That’s how most places hook me up when I ask for it medium. This dude likes to cook all the pink out of it, which on some occasions has led to a bit of overcookage. Which is cool. It happens. The burgers are almost always awesome anyway.

I’ve gotta give a serious shout-out today to the “burger sauce” at Four Burgers. It’s one of the plethora of options you can toss on the burger. It is essentially the same type of “house sauce” you see at any other burger place. It’s likely just thousand island dressing and infused with ketchup and/or mayo, but it is some good stuff.

Me likey.

Seriously, y’all…if you haven’t eaten at Four Burgers yet, you clearly hate yourself.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Responses

  1. I always ask for medium rare. In these days where some restaurants won’t even serve anything less than “medium” for fear of being sued over some food-borne illness, even medium rare is usually just slightly pink in the middle.

    Like

  2. How was the Double-Down??

    Like

  3. All the hyperbole over the Double-Down makes me sick. If I go home and plow through a Tombstone pizza – and I intend to – I’m consuming nearly double the fat, 600 more calories and twice the sodium. No one’s aghast at Tombstone pizza. Kudos to KFC for having the guts to go bunless. That type of courage and ingenuity is too often overlooked.

    Like

  4. [...] going to lie, this is a tad embarrassing considering that I’d gone to Four Burgers not more than two days earlier, but let’s be honest some days a dude just needs to have a cheeseburger for lunch, [...]

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

