Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | February 27, 2010

My Newest Superpower and/or My Dumb Luck

My Faithful Readers, I don’t want to alarm you, but I might have superpowers.

Sort of.

Well, maybe not at all. It’s far more likely that I am:

a) really lucky

or

b) the beneficiary of a malfunctioning machine

Either way, I feel pretty bad-ass about the whole thing.

There’s a Coke machine at MIT that hooks me up with a free can roughly 33% of the time.

Call me crazy, but that’s a pretty solid percentage.

That fact notwithstanding, I don’t do anything to abuse this glorious gift from the Coke gods.

You see, I used to walk by this machine a lot more often when I lived in Southie and took the subway to and from work every day. I’d say only once a week or so would I press my luck and try for the mystical free Coke.

Since moving to Cambridge, I’ve only encountered this machine a handful of times and I’ve been a little more willing to press my luck (and the button) every time I saunter by the machine.

My first Coke came as a total shock to me. I was walking by the machine on my way to the subway one night after work and as I passed a bank of vending machines, I just started randomly pressing buttons, why I don’t know, and suddenly one push produced a loud clanging noise and then a beautiful red can suddenly appeared.

It took a minute to register, but then I did a happy dance and popped the top on my free Coke.

This happened, at random, roughly four more times.

Then it stopped. I went months without getting a free soda.

We moved to Cambridge and I never thought of the machine again.

Then, the other day whilst searching for an elusive Taco Truck (blog entry forthcoming) I sauntered by the machine and gave it a push. Nothing happened, but I figured I’d try my luck again the next time I ventured that way in search of the aforementioned ninja-like Taco Truck.

My next trip came a week later and *BAM* that machine Coked me up something fierce.

As one might expect, I gave the machine a hug and went on my merry way.

…but you can bet your bottom dollar, I’ll be headed for that machine the next time I’m on that side of campus.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Responses

  1. […] second came from the magical Coke machine at MIT. Obviously a dude can’t turn down a magic Coke, so I guzzled that one […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

