Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | November 30, 2009

A Moment with Grace

Grace and I have been together for just a smidgen over seven years.

In that time we’ve developed a sort of innate ability to realize what situations warrant real, genuine concern and which situations merely warrant a head nod and an automatic mmmhhhmmmmm.

The day after Thanksgiving we were taking our sweet-ass time to get the day started as we’re wont to do. Grace was in the kitchen nibbling at some leftover cherry pie and I was in the bathroom brushing my teeth and preparing to actually start the day.

I grabbed for my contact lens case, but in doing so it slipped. I frantically reached out to snatch it and in the process managed to hit the door of our medicine cabinet/mirror into my head.

In a surprisingly polished, yet completely un-choreographed move, I stumbled backwards tripping up and over the edge of the toilet and fell ass over tea-kettle back into the living room.

I bounced off the arm rest of the couch and landing on the ground whimpering.

Grace came storming in the room, in what I assumed was a frantic panic regarding my safety.

While I rolled around clutching the side of my now swelling head, Grace simply picked up her laptop and slid it out of the way so that I wouldn’t kick it while thrashing about and meandered back into the kitchen to finish her cherry pie.

I sat up and before I could even go into some dramatic rant about how I could have died there on the floor, she beat me to the punch from the other room.

“Oh shut up, you’re fine,” she said. “Stop being such a drama queen.”

…and she was right.

I was fine.

It hurt like a mofo, but I clearly wasn’t dying or gushing blood from my noggin, so it wasn’t really anything worth flipping out about.

That gal’s got a drama-sensor that’d get the folks at NASA in a tizzy.


Responses

  1. 7 years = common law
    I’m not sayin, I’m just sayin

    • ’tis only common law if you’ve been living together for seven years, I believe…

      and we’ve only technically been living together for four years…and we’ve only been living just the two of us (read: COMPLETELY living in sin) for a little over a year.

      we’ve got plenty of time to kill…

  2. <3 Grace

    • ditto!

  3. Dear Lord, I sound like a complete wench. Are you okay?!

    • No you don’t sound like a wench, you sound like a gal who knows which situations do and do not warrant real concern. You’re a pro…

      …and no, I’m not fine. I’ve developed an inoperable brain hemmorage from the blow to the noggin…thanks for asking, finally.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 167 other followers

