Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | July 7, 2009

Update: An Offer I Can’t Refuse

baseballinterviewer

Hey y’all…just wanted to give you an update on the status of my burgeoning career as a baseball writer.

For those who don’t remember, in late May I received an offer—more of a request actually—to get back into blogging about baseball, primarily the Twins, at BleacherReport.com.

I knew this would impact my blogging here and I attempted to try to blog every other day here and at BleacherReport. My attempt went pretty well. For the 30 days in June I managed a total of 24 blogs, fifteen of them here at “Blank Stares and Blank Pages” and a mere nine of them at BleacherReport.

Well apparently, my nine blogs at BleacherReport were good enough to win over some of the editors because a week or so ago, I received an email from the Editor-in-Chief at BleacherReport who had this to say:

Jeremiah,

I’ve isolated your Minnesota Twins articles among the best that Bleacher Report has to offer and as a result, would like to offer you a spot as a Featured Columnist for the Minnesota Twins.

Bleacher Report is overhauling all of its team pages and the addition of Featured Columnists will be the cornerstone of these new team pages. I’d like the opportunity to be able to build these pages around your high-quality articles.

Here’s how you will benefit from being a Featured Columnist:

* You’ll receive consistent column real estate on the Minnesota Twins team page. This will include a headshot of you or a user logo/symbol. Multiple columnists will be featured on the team pages with the most recently filed columns receiving top billing.
* You’ll gain increased traffic and exposure to readers on the B/R community through consistent placement on team pages and increased opportunities to appear on league pages and the home page. You may even put a link or reference to your blog or website at the end of every article.
* You’ll have the opportunity for increased syndication opportunities through B/R and its content partners (CBS, Fox Sports, Sports Illustrated, Los Angeles Times, etc.)
* You’ll receive increased attention from the B/R editorial team which will include earmarked topical assignment opportunities, and constructive feedback.
* You’ll be eligible to apply for media credentials through B/R to attend live games of your designated team
* You’ll be able to add Featured Columnist for a major national sports website to your resume, complete with supporting references from B/R editorial employees.

Jeremiah, we’ve been really impressed with your work to date. We’re excited to go to bat for you, and work together to carve out a significant online audience.

Needless to say, I was pretty f’n stoked.

The opportunity to get media credentials and go behind the scenes at games is incredible and a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for most people. Having the chance to get increased syndication and coverage by major players in the sports media such as Sports Illustrated, CBS and Fox Sports is an implausible feat for most bloggers like myself who just sort of rant and rave.

I took a few days to deliberate and ultimately chose to accept the offer. So once again, I’m going to ask for more patience from you, my Faithful Readers. This position requires more time and effort as they’re expecting at least three feature articles a week.

This is still an unpaid thing—hopefully not for long—and I’m doing it in addition to my regular job and trying to jam it in around having some semblance of a social life. As such, I assume my blogging here may suffer even further than it did last month. I am still hoping to split my time and have one blog every other day for each, but I can make no guarantees.

All I ask is that all y’all stick with me here and don’t jet off to some newer, funnier blogger who happens to have more time and/or better facial hair.

Thanks again to all y’all for the support!!

:-)

Responses

  1. High five!!!

    Like

    • right back atcha!

      Like

  2. Yay Cornboy. That’s great news!!

    Like

  3. Even I like your baseball writing, and I barely know what you’re talking about. That has to be a good sign. I rate you 5 stars every time– as Matt Willison.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

