Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | June 13, 2009

Confessions: I’m Old

backpain

I’m in a lot of pain today.

This isn’t anything new, mind you. I wake up in a pain pretty much all the time, a fact that can be attributed to any number of things, such as: the way I play sports, working construction as a child, my brief run as a professional wrestler, Paris Hilton’s various reality television shows, too many pig chores at a young age, falling off a big ole stack of hay bales or any of a million other reasons.

Today I’m in a lot of pain for a different reason.

Today I’m in a lot of pain because I spent all-day yesterday boxing up dusty old journals that no one will ever read again. In doing this I spent all day bending over and lifting heavy journal-filled box after heavy journal-filled box.

As such, my back and legs are absolutely furious with me today. Everything hurts and I want to die.

This is what makes me think I’m getting soft in my old age.

There was a time, back in the day, when I’d spend my summers roofing houses when it was 100 degrees out and then I’d come home, shower and go out all-night with my friends.

Fast-forward a few years and after spending a day boxing journals I wanted to go home and curl up in a tiny ball and gnaw on some Tylenol PM and stick a big ole curly straw into a keg of Coors Light.

What happened to me?!

I’ve noticed this same trend after softball games lately too.

I’ve always been…um…aggressive when playing softball. To this day I’m still the only member of my team that I’ve seen slide or dive (on purpose) on the astroturf and I know I’m the only one to make a headfirst slide into any base during my tenure with the team.

Well, lately, after the games I’m finding myself gimped up for much, much longer. It used to be that I’d wake up a little sore on Friday morning and sorta walk it off throughout the day. Then I’d wake up Saturday morning and be in tip-top shape.

Nowadays I’m often still limping around and in pain all through the weekend…occasionally well into Monday morning.

My Mama always said that it’d all catch up with my one day and—as is often the case—it appears that Mama knew what she was talking about.

Getting old sucks…

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 167 other followers

