Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | May 18, 2009

Stop the Madness

header-edited

Okay, this is something that has been driving me crazy for quite some time now and I finally need to say something about it.

Anyone not on Facebook you can feel free to zip right on past this post and move onto one of my other random, rambling posts…you know, the ones that are about food or Jennifer Aniston or library patrons or something.

For those of you who are on Facebook I have two things to say to you…

1) I really hope you’ve become a fan of my blog, simply search “Blank Stares and Blank Pages” and it should pop up.

2) What the hell is wrong with you people and this ridiculous wave of fandom?!

I’ve blogged previously about an absurd happening on Facebook and it seems that since then, things have only gotten worse when it comes to people’s desire to become a “fan” of every single thing ever.

I realize that some people like a certain band or actor or restaurant and that’s totally cool. I’ve got no problem with proclaiming your love for any of those things. It’s not like I’m going to pretend I didn’t become a fan of Jennifer Aniston or Taco John’s or Taylor Swift…no, no…I’ve got no problem with all that.

What I do have a problem with are the completely ridiculous fan pages that have started popping up.

In the last month I’ve seen friends as well as “friends” become fans of such things as “Not Being on Fire,” “The Middle Finger,” “Oxygen,” “I Love My Dad” and “I Hate Waking Up in the Morning!!”

I don’t know what possess people to commit themselves to public fandom of such completely generic concepts or things.

I mean seriously…oxygen?! Really…

This makes me contemplate ending the lives of everyone who has joined these groups or perhaps something more drastic, like ending our virtual friendship!! Remember that the next time you’re contemplating becoming a fan of “Not Drowning” or “Being Sad ‘Cause of All the Stupid Things Around.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 167 other followers

