Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | January 16, 2009

25 Random Things

Right now there is a “chain-letter” of sorts going around asking people to write 25 random things about themselves. They are then supposed to “tag” 25 people who are then supposed to go through the same process. I have been a little light on blog content the past few days and I’ve been “tagged” about a dozen times, so I figured I was long overdue.

So here they are, 25 random things about the one, the only…Jeremiah Graves.

cast1. I broke my left elbow the summer before I started high school. I broke it playing basketball. It was me and the infamous PJ Roethler playing a game of two-on-fifteen basketball with a bunch of young kids. We were going down the court and I threw him the ball and then this kid slammed on the brakes in front of me and I tried to stop before I totally plowed through him, but sorta jumped over him and landed on my elbow just right and shattered that pointy part. Flex your elbow and feel…yep, that pointy part. They had to patch it up with some pins and screws and stuff. Totally a fluke thing, but at least I’ve got a pretty sweet scar.

2. There was a period of two straight years—fourth grade and fifth grade—when I didn’t wear anything but jogging pants and my dress pants (for church and Christmas Concerts). Now I only wear jogging pants as pajamas or to the gym. I am far more comfortable in blue jeans than anything else.

3. I am probably the world’s single worst dancer, of all-time. This fact, however, isn’t nearly enough to keep me from flailing wildly as though my limbs were independent from my body at just about any occasion where I can partake in some dancing action.

4. I chose Minnesota State over Iowa State by flipping a coin. Two out of three. MSU was tails. ISU was heads. MSU won 2-to-1. Yes, that is real. No, I cannot imagine how different things would be if it would have come up heads on the last flip and I’d prefer not to.

5. I applied to five colleges as a High School senior: Minnesota State University, Iowa State University, University of Northern Iowa, University of Iowa and New York University. I got into all of them except NYU. I don’t know if I’d have actually gone, I think more than anything I wanted to know that I could get in. Apparently I couldn’t…so that sucked.typewriter

6. I hate peanut butter.

7. When I was a youngin’ I used to create my own newspapers and write articles, stories and editorials on an old typewriter. I can safely say that’s when I fell in love with writing and—to a lesser extent—seeing people’s reactions to my writing.

8. My back hurts all day every day. This is more than likely due to a gigantic tumble I took in second grade. It was a snowy day and we had a two-hour late start to give the plows time to clear the roads. I was at my cousin’s house playing in the snow and having a blast. We ended up on top of a stack of hay bales that at the time seemed to be 600 feet high. In reality I assume they were probably stacked somewhere between 25 and 50 feet high; either way, there was a tarp on the top and it was covered in snow. I was peering over the edge when I slipped and was teetering on the edge, my legs dangling and my top half still on the top of the pile, I tried to pull myself back up, but slipped off and fell straight down. The only reason the fall didn’t kill me was because one bale was sticking out of the side just enough that I hit it and it slowed me down enough that when I hit the ground it only hurt like hell and didn’t kill me. The next day in gym class I got yelled at by the gym teacher when I couldn’t do sit-ups because my back hurt too much…but yeah, my back has hurt every day since. I went to a chiropractor for awhile, but it never really helped. Since then my knees have gone to shit from having a bunch of growth spurts before my joints were ready for them and the intense way that I play sports…anywho, let’s move onto a more positive random thing.

9. I’m a Coke guy. Pepsi can suck it.

10. Movies I have seen at least 10 times: “Batman,” “Field of Dreams,” “Bull Durham,” “Die Hard,” “Lion King,” “Aladdin,” “Cool Runnings,” “Rocky IV,” “Rocky III,” “Spider-Man,” “Ace Ventura,” “Ace Ventura: When Nature Calls,” “For Love of the Game,” “Along Came Polly,” “Elizabethtown,” “Zoolander,” and “Shawshank Redemption.”

11. I haven’t the slightest clue what I want to be when I grow up. I teeter back and forth about going to graduate school, but I don’t know what I’d go for. I don’t want to be a real librarian. I don’t want to go into business…well maybe advertising. A graduate degree in creative writing and/or journalism is just another two years and a bunch more money to be virtually unemployable. I want to write. I want to run a baseball team. I want to play outfield for a baseball team. Who knows…the one thing I do know is that I want to be happy. So far so good.

12. I am one of the most laid-back people you will ever meet; however, I do have a mean-streak a country-mile wide if the situation calls for it. I’m usually okay with someone messing with me, but if they mess with my family or friends, there’s a pretty good chance that I’ll do everything in my power to make them regret it.

13. My bedroom at my parent’s house is essentially an altar at which one would come to worship the Goddesses of early 2000s bubble-gum pop. Britney, Christina and Mandy are all prominently featured. Maybe a little too prominently featured.

14. I went to my senior prom as a cowboy. To this day, I think deep-down a small part of Rachel Wacker still wishes she’d never jokingly suggested the idea.

15. Nothing makes me happier than getting behind the wheel and driving with my music blasting and a camera by my side. One of my goals is to someday make a cross-country road trip.

16. I’ve looked into getting certified as an official BBQ judge. Apparently I can get it done in Iowa, but not in Massachusetts…at least according to what I’ve stumbled across online. Perhaps this shall be my (unpaid) calling?! It’s practically volunteer work. In fact, it’s damn near the same thing as being in the Peace Corps.

17. When sliding into a base, I prefer to go headfirst. It may not get me there any faster, but it makes me feel like I’m more in the game. Plus it tends to mess with the head of the dude trying to catch the ball and tag me out. Feet coming at ‘em is one thing, but a dude flying at you face-first, that’s a wee-bit more daunting.

diehard18. Every morning when I’m choosing my footwear for the day, I take a minute and try to think about how accommodating my choice would be if the library were taken over by a group of militant terrorists and I was forced to try and save the day ala “Die Hard.” For anyone who thinks I’m joking, think again. This is the exact same reason that I almost always wear shoes in the house and hate to be caught without footwear. I’ve seen the original “Die Hard” enough times to know that fighting terrorists in bare feet is NOT a wise idea.

19. I am adept at surviving for long periods of time with little or no sleep. I don’t necessarily prefer to do so, but I figure if we sleep away one-third of our lives, I’m going to lower that percentage just a little bit and snag a little more awake time before I kick the bucket.

20. I have some sweet-ass scars. The aforementioned broken elbow, three scars on my chest/back from my lung surgery, a large scar from sliding on Astroturf, my legs are riddled with small scars from sports and I have a scar on my right hip from sliding (headfirst, of course) into first-base to prevent the final out during intramural softball my sophomore year of college. The field was rock solid and cut me up pretty bad.

21. I can watch “Friends,” “Family Guy” and/or “How I Met Your Mother” at any time and be completely satisfied.

22. Not gonna lie, “Seinfeld” never really did it for me. It is okay and all…and I’ve seen every episode like three times…but it’s just not my cup of Red Bull.

23. As much as I adore Jennifer Aniston, I still wouldn’t leave Grace for her.

24. I’ve always envisioned that at some point I would end up rich and famous for something. Whether it was writing or acting or killing Carrot Top or winning the World Heavyweight Title at Wrestlemania or making a game-saving diving catch in the World Series or realizing I could fly or something…and you know what? I still think I’ve got a shot.

25. I’m one happy dude.


Responses

  1. Re: #22 – ditto!! You’re possibly the only other person I know who feels this way.

    Re: #15 – If you ever do go on a cross-country road trip, can I come along? You know it would be so much more fun with a mini-van/15-passenger van/school bus of people along with you!

  2. @ #23: Awwwww


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 167 other followers

