Posted by: Jeremiah Graves | May 14, 2006

Hmmmmm…how ’bout that?!

So yeah…pretty sure I graduated college yesterday.

People talk about when it’s going to sink in and when we’re all going to freak out and realize we are now entering the “Real World.”

I hate that f’n phrase so much. “The Real World.” Everyone who survives college is already living in the real world. We all have to work hard in and out of the classroom to make it through. We all have to stay focused and keep pushing for that last ounce of motivation. We all have to show up to work to pay bills and fund our good times.

Would someone like to tell me how that is different from this so-called “Real World” that we are just now supposedly stepping into?

The way I look at it this is just another of the many accomplishments in life. I’m very proud that I made it and that I graduated with honors. I’m very proud of all of my friends who also graduated. I’m proud of the time that I had in college and the memories I made.

Most of all I’m proud that now is when I finally get to see what I can do on my own in the world. No more teachers offering help. No more parents paying for my health insurance. No more on campus job that I can come and go from as a I please. The world I’m stepping into isn’t anymore real than the world I’ve been living in. It is however more dangerous. I’ve lost the safety net I’ve had for the last 22 years. If I fall it’s up to me and me alone to pick my ass back up.

…and I think I’m ready.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

